FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Little Steven - Soulfire (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Little Steven - Soulfire

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDL77528

First Solo Album In Nearly 2 Decades Finds Rock & Roll Hall of Famer Revisiting Songs That Span the Length of His Career as Artist, Performer, Producer, Arranger & Songwriter!

Soulfire is Stevie Van Zandt's first solo album in close to two decades and without question his purest and most uniquely personal artistic statement thus far. The album sees the Rock & Roll Hall of Famer revisiting songs that span the length of his career as artist, performer, producer, arranger, and songwriter, focusing directly on the hugely influential "soul horns-meet-rock 'n' roll guitars" approach he first pioneered on Southside Johnny and the Asbury Jukes' classic first three albums.

"I've always been very thematic with my work, very conceptual," Van Zandt says. "I need a big picture, I can't just do a collection of songs, that doesn't work for me. In this case, the concept became me. Who am I? I'm kind of my own genre at this point. So I tried to pick material that when you added it all up, really represented me. So there are a couple of covers, a couple of new songs, and some of what I feel are the best songs I've written and co-written over the years. This record is me doing me."

Soulfire was arranged and produced by Van Zandt at his own Renegade Studios in New York City, co-produced and recorded by Grammy Award-winner Geoff Sanoff (Fountains of Wayne) and co-produced by guitarist Marc Ribler. Background vocals on "I Don't Want To Go Home" and "The City Weeps Tonight" come courtesy of renowned a cappella group, The Persuasions. Soulfire was mixed and mastered by Van Zandt's career-long collaborators and friends Bob Clearmountain (Rolling Stones, David Bowie, The Who, Bryan Adams), and Bob Ludwig (Led Zeppelin, Nirvana, The Band, Sly and the Family Stone).




Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Soulfire (co-written with Anders Bruus of The Breakers)
  2. I'm Coming Back (Originally found on Southside Johnny and The Asbury Jukes' 1991 LP, Better Days)
  3. The Blues Is My Business (Written by Kevin Bowe and Todd Cerney, recorded by Etta James in 2003)
  4. I Saw The Light
  5. Some Things Just Don't Change (Originally found on Southside Johnny and The Asbury Jukes' 1977 LP, This Time It's For Real)
  6. Love On The Wrong Side of Town (Co-written with Bruce Springsteen and originally found on Southside Johnny and The Asbury Jukes' 1977 LP, This Time It's For Real)
  7. The City Weeps Tonight
  8. Down and Out in New York City (Written by Bodie Chandler and Barry De Vorzon and originally recorded on James Brown's 1973 Black Caesar soundtrack)
  9. Standing in the Line of Fire" (Co-written with Gary U.S. Bonds and (L.) Anderson and originally found on Gary U.S. Bonds' 1984 Standing In The Line of Fire)
  10. Saint Valentine's Day (Originally found on The Cocktail Slippers' 2009 LP, Saint Valentine's Day Massacre)
  11. I Don't Want To Go Home (Originally found on Southside Johnny and The Asbury Jukes' 1976 debut LP, I Don't Want To Go Home)
  12. Ride The Night Away (Co-written with Steve Jordan and originally found on Jimmy Barnes' 1985 LP, For The Working Class Man; later recorded for Southside Johnny and The Asbury Jukes' 1991 LP, Better Days)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.