FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Liz Phair - Girly-Sound to Guyville: The 25th Anniversary (Vinyl 7LP Box Set) * * *
Click to Enlarge

Liz Phair - Girly-Sound to Guyville: The 25th Anniversary

(Vinyl 7LP Box Set) * * *

23Reward Points
Product Not Eligible for Further Discounts
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (8)
Item: LDP30512

2018 marks the 25th anniversary of Liz Phair's landmark album Exile in Guyville and Matador Records is celebrating the occasion with the release of the Girly-Sound To Guyville: The 25th Anniversary box set. The extensive 7LP package contains the first official restored audio of all three 1991 Girly-Sound tapes from the original cassettes as well as the Exile In Guyville album remastered by Emily Lazar at The Lodge. Also included is a lavish, thick book, which contains a detailed oral history by Jason Cohen, essays by Liz Phair and journalist Ann Powers and never before published photos, unseen artwork, and ephemera.

Ever since her audacious debut, Exile In Guyville, landed in 1993, Liz Phair has been cipher for a certain kind of aesthetic. She's been called "the female face of indie rock," a "slacker poet of the first degree" and a "brainy bad girl," but she forever remains America's sardonic sweetheart. With Exile..., Phair created what's considered a track-by-track response to the Stones' Exile On Main St by reverse-engineering sexual objectification for the female gaze, all while keeping her tongue firmly in cheek. Fusing lo-fi production with a singer-songwriter sensibility, Phair helped shape what would become "indie rock" and defied expectations of what a female rock star could be. While her sexually provocative lyrics is what first enthralled the indie press, it was her fearless singing, her effortless hooks and the specificity of her lyrics that connected with fans.

• Exile In Guyville (double remastered LP)
• Three pre-Exile/Girly Sound cassettes, restored from the original tapes and never before commercially released in their entirety: Yo Yo Buddy Yup Yup Word To Ya Mutha (double LP, restored from Girly Sound cassette 1), Girls! Girls! Girls! (double LP restored from Girly Sound cassette 2), Sooty (single LP, restored from Girly Sound cassette 3)
• An extensive booklet containing an oral history by Jason Cohen including interviews with Liz Phair, Chris Brokaw, Brad Wood, John Henderson and more, an essay by Liz Phair, and an essay by journalist Ann Powers
• The booklet in the LP set also contains never before published photos, unseen artwork, and ephemera

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
Yo Yo Buddy Yup Yup Word To Ya Mutha - Double LP Girly-Sound 1
  1. White Babies
  2. Shane
  3. 6 Dick Pimp
  4. Divorce Song
  5. Go West
  6. Don't Holdyrbreath
  7. Johnny Sunshine
  8. Miss Lucy
  9. Elvis Song
  10. Dead Shark One Less Thing Money
  11. In Love w/Yself
Girls! Girls! Girls! Double LP Girly-Sound 2
  1. Hello Sailor
  2. Wild-Thing
  3. Fuck And Run
  4. Easy Target
  5. Soap Star Joe
  6. Ant In Alaska
  8. Polyester Bride
  9. Thrax
  10. Miss Mary Mack
  11. Clean
  12. Love Song
  13. Valentine
Sooty - Single LP Girly-Sound 3
  1. Gigolo
  2. Flower
  3. Batmobile
  4. Slave
  5. Open Season
  6. Whip Smart
  7. Suckerfish
  8. California
  9. South Dakota
  10. Bomb
  11. Easy
  12. Chopsticks
Exile In Guyville Double LP
  1. 6'1"
  2. Help Me, Mary
  3. Glory
  4. Dance Of The Seven Veils
  5. Never Said
  6. Soap Star Joe
  7. Explain It To Me
  8. Canary
  9. Mesmerizing
  10. Fuck And Run
  11. Girls! Girls! Girls!
  12. Divorce Song
  13. Shatter
  14. Flower
  15. Johnny Sunshine
  16. Gunshy
  17. Stratford-On-Guy
  18. Strange Loop?

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.