FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Lubricated Goat - Plays the Devil's Music (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Lubricated Goat - Plays the Devil's Music

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDL924375

Out of circulation for over two decades, Sorcerer Records presents a reissue of Lubricated Goat's 1987 debut LP Plays The Devil's Music. A classic slice of underground Australiana, it was recorded over two recording sessions in mid-1986, one in Perth and one in Adelaide. Plays The Devil's Music wasn't really seen by band founder/mainstay Stu Spasm (Beasts Of Bourbon, Salamander Jim) as a part of any grand musical plan. He recorded these tracks with his friends Martin Bland, Brett Ford, and Pete Hartley and went back to Sydney with the tapes. John Foy of Black Eye Records loved the results and the band known as Lubricated Goat was born.

Over the course of several more full-lengths and an EP or two, the band established a reputation as one of Australia's finest purveyors of post-punk noise-rock before relocating to the US. The musical scene centered around the Black Eye label in Sydney at the time, with bands such as the Goat, Thug, No More Bandicoots and Box The Jesuit - one of Australia's richest, weirdest and most inventive conglomeration of musicians and artists, and Stu and company were right in the thick of it. Lubricated Goat were often compared to the Butthole Surfers at the time, and their mix of punk, post-punk, noise, and a taste for the absurd puts them firmly in the same camp. Throw in a little bit of Stooges/Birthday Party-style grunt and a distinctly Australian sense of humor and you're getting close to the magic of early Lubricated Goat.

This new vinyl edition comes remastered courtesy of Mikey Young and includes the original artwork and inner sleeve, new liner notes from Stu Spasm detailing the history of the recording and an accompanying download.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Jason The Unpopular
  2. Beyond The Grave
  3. Guttersnipe
  4. Nerve Quake
  5. Anal Injury
  6. Hornraiser
  7. Frotting With Ennio
  8. Goats And The Men Who Ride Them
  9. Can't Believe We're Really Making Love

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.