FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Lyrics Born - Later That Day (Colored Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Lyrics Born - Later That Day

(Colored Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDL00314

Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

A crucial founding member of the Northern Cali-birthed Solesides/Quannum collective – which included DJ Shadow and Blackalicious, among others – and one half of the groundbreaking Latyrx duo (with Lateef The Truthspeaker), Lyrics Born opened a lot of ears and minds with his 2003 solo debut, Later That Day... On this very open-minded and chiefly self-produced long player, Lyrics Born and his crew (including Joyo Velarde, on vocals; guitarist Tommy Guerrero and Germany's funk masters Poets of Rhythm) bring it from the funk side, boasting a warm soul stew instead of colder drum machine-based beats and chopped samples.

As shown since his earliest days, the incredibly versatile Lyrics Born mixes his flow up depending on the track, from tongue-twistingly fast to conversationally mundane, and concepts are usually at the forefront – "Cold Call" is an amusing take on telemarketers, featuring Gift of Gab; "Before And After" is about friends growing apart; and "Bad Dreams" is a groovy apocalyptic shaker. The infectious "Callin' Out" rides the party train and "Stop Complaining" timeshares between funny and serious. "Do That There" features DJ Cut Chemist with liquid cuts that work around LB's verbal floor routine. And even after all of the other musical fireworks, the album's crescendo most assuredly comes on track eleven, "The Last Trumpet": operatically dramatic and powerful, with Lyrics Born and Latyrx-mate Lateef trading verses at breakneck pace.

Presented for its 15th Anniversary as a colored 2LP set, housed in a gatefold jacket with in-depth liner notes by renowned author and journalist Jeff Chang, plus an 11" x 17" poster of the amazing cover art, this is a perfect way to re-introduce this classic to a new era of fans – present and future.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Dream Sequence (Intro) 
2. Bad Dreams 
3. Rise and Shine 
4. Callin' Out 
5. U Ass Bank 
6. Cold Call (featuring The Gift of Gab) 
7. Interlude 
8. Stop Complaining (featuring Tommy Guerrero)  
9. Do That There (featuring Cut Chemist) 
10. Before and After 
11. The Last Trumpet (featuring Lateef the Truthspeaker) 
12. Pack Up 
13. Hott Bizness 
14. Love Me So Bad (featuring Joyo Velarde) 
15. One Session (featuring The Altered Egos) 
16. Nightro 
17. Hello 

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.