FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Marc Ribot - Songs of Resistance 1942 - 2018 (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Marc Ribot - Songs of Resistance 1942 - 2018

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDR760411

"Every movement which has ever won anything has had songs," says Marc Ribot. With his new LP, Songs of Resistance 1948-2018, Ribot – one of the world's most accomplished and acclaimed guitar players – set out to assemble a set of songs that spoke to this political moment with appropriate ambition, passion, and fury. The 11-songs on the record are drawn from the World War II anti-fascist Italian partisans, the U.S. civil rights movement, and Mexican protest ballads, as well as original compositions, and feature a wide range of guest vocalists, including Tom Waits, Steve Earle, Meshell Ndegeocello, Justin Vivian Bond, Fay Victor, Sam Amidon, and Ohene Cornelius.

Over a forty-year career, Ribot has released twenty-five albums under his own name and been a beacon of New York's downtown/experimental music scene, leading a series of bands including Los Cubanos Postizos and Ceramic Dog. Since his work with Tom Waits on 1985's Rain Dogs album, though, he is best known to the world as a sideman, playing on countless albums by the likes of Elvis Costello, John Mellencamp, Norah Jones, the Black Keys, and Robert Plant and Alison Krauss' Grammy-winning collaboration Raising Sand.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. We Are Soldiers in the Army - By Marc Ribot & Fay Victor
  2. Bella Ciao (Goodbye Beautiful) - By Marc Ribot & Tom Waits
  3. Srinivas - By Steve Earle & Tift Merritt
  4. How To Walk In Freedom - By Marc Ribot, Sam Amidon & Fay Victor
  5. Rata de dos Patas - By Marc Ribot & Ohene Cornelius
  6. The Militant Ecologist (based on Fischia II Vento) - By Marc Ribot & Meshell Ndegeocello
  1. The Big Fool
  2. Ain't Gonna Let Them Turn Us Round - By Marc Ribot, Steve Earle & Tift Merritt
  3. John Brown - By Marc Ribot & Fay Victor
  4. Knock That Statue Down - By Marc Ribot & Syd Straw
  5. We'll Never Turn Back - By Marc Ribot, Justin Vivian Bond & Domenica Fossati

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More