FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Mark Lanegan and Duke Garwood - With Animals (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Mark Lanegan and Duke Garwood - With Animals

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDL006940

Over the last decade, Mark Lanegan and Duke Garwood have worked in tangent on 2013's Black Pudding as well as on Lanegan's solo records (Garwood contributed to 2012's Blues Funeral and 2017's Gargoyle after which he toured as part of Lanegan's band). The Summer of 2018 sees the duo releasing their second official album together entitled With Animals.

Its 12 songs are spectral and sinewy, often defined by the spaces in between the sounds. A ghost's whistle weaves itself around a pulsing single note on "Lonesome Infidel"; "Feast to Famine's" hard luck story floats above a guitar part so strung out and washed with distortion it's become barely recognizable. It's soul music for anyone who's long since left the crossroads. The writing and recording of With Animals was split between studio collaboration and sharing music between Garwood's home in London and Los Angeles where Lanegan resides. Technology made the duo's transatlantic working relationship relatively easy.

While Black Pudding put Garwood's mercurial guitar center stage, With Animals is constructed from a different set of tools. Analogue and dust flecked, it sounds like Lanegan and Garwood have been holed up in a '60s recording studio while the apocalypse rages outside. Tracks sit on loops that sound like they're straight out of There's A Riot Goin' On while sparse melodies nod in the direction of British electronic producers like Burial or Boards of Canada. Which is not to say it sounds like any of those things – this is a weird world all of their own design.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Save Me
  2. Feast to Famine
  3. My Shadow Life
  4. Upon Doing Something Wrong
  5. L.A. Blue
  6. Scarlett
  7. Lonesome Infidel
  8. With Animals
  9. Ghost Stories
  10. Spaceman
  11. One Way Glass
  12. Desert Song

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.