FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Mikael Tariverdiev - Olga Sergeevn: Original Score (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Mikael Tariverdiev - Olga Sergeevn: Original Score

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDT02065

Following the release of the critically acclaimed Film Music box set and Irony Of Fate, Earth Recordings release Mikael Tariverdiev's score of 1975's Olga Sergeevna. Produced by Stephen Coates and Vera Tariverdieva with imagery from Paul Heartfield, the deluxe double vinyl will be made available for the first time outside of Russia. Bringing the composer close to recognition in the west, the magisterial score and improvisations are taken from the Soviet TV Film series Olga Sergeevna which was directed by Aleksandr Proshkin.

Based on a story by Edvard Radzinsky, the show featured several film stars with the lead role of Olga played by screen star Tatiana Doronina. 
Olga is a marine biologist brought from a small town to Moscow by her mentor. As the story unfolds there's a tangled web of professional, romantic and emotional relationships with various men. The main theme of the series is that a woman can dedicate her life to her career and feel satisfied, even when she is not particularly happy in her personal life. In the USSR, and globally, it was a revolutionary concept in the '70s to set a TV drama around the life of a female scientist.

As many critics have noted, his music, like the theme of the TV series, contradicts the lazy prejudice that any popular culture which escaped the Soviet censor could not be ground breaking or the equal of anything being made in the West. 
The scores improvised baroque jazz inflections were created from improvised pieces lead by Tariverdiev on keyboard, celeste, cimbalon, harpsichord and piano. Here he's accompanied by Josef Kobzon with the Orchestra of Cinematography conducted by Emin Khachaturian along with double bassist Shakhaliev and Livshin on drums.


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Faster Than Sound
  2. Movement In Tempo Presto
  3. Morning in the Mountains
  4. Sun In Rain
  5. Memory (Instrumental)
  6. Olga's Melody
  7. Burned Out Nerves
  8. Reflection
  9. Recollection
  10. Movement In E Minor
  11. The Solitude Of The Boat
  12. Harpsichord Rhythm
  13. Nocturne
  14. Don't Disappear (Instrumental)
  15. Moscow Morning
  16. Childhood
  17. Circles On Water
  18. Wanderer
  19. Aria
  20. Longing For Silence
  21. Memory (Vocal)
  22. Appearance
  23. Out Of Shot
  24. Horizon
  25. Mariner
  26. Cloud Land
  27. Vanishing Point
  28. Don't Disappear (Vocal)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.