FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Miles Davis - Ascenseur Pour Lechafaud (Vinyl 3 x 10")
Click to Enlarge

Miles Davis - Ascenseur Pour Lechafaud

(Vinyl 3 x 10")

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (8)
Item: LDD96399

60th Anniversary 3 x 10" Vinyl Collector's Edition featuring Original Soundtrack, Session Takes & Bonus Track, All Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes

Recorded at Le Poste Parisien Studio in Paris in December of 1957, Miles Davis' evocative soundtrack for Louis Malle's 1958 French film Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud (Elevator to the Gallows) finds the jazz luminary on trumpet leading a primarily European band featuring Barney Wilen (tenor saxophone), René Urtreger (piano), Pierre Michelot (bass) and Kenny Clarke (drums). With a romantic sound reminiscent of his early '50s Blue Note recordings Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud is a wonderfully reflective precursor to Davis' landmark release Kind Of Blue which was issued the following year. Without a doubt a high-water mark in not only the trumpeter's staggering discography but also the history of film soundtracks, the recording's 60th anniversary is celebrated here with a special 3 x 10" vinyl collector's edition which comprises the original soundtrack, the complete session takes and a bonus track.

Miles Davis, trumpet
Barney Wilen, tenor saxophone
René Urtreger, piano
Pierre Michelot, bass
Kenny Clarke, drums

• 60th Anniversary Collector's Edition
• Deluxe 3 x 10" vinyl set
• First vinyl edition comprising both the original soundtrack and the complete session takes
• Remastered from the original analog tapes & cut at Abbey Road Studios
• Previously unreleased track: "L'Interrogatoire de Julien"
• New album notes by Franck Bergerot
• Triple gatefold jacket

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
Disc 1
1. Generique
2. L'Assassinat de Carala
3. Sue L'Autoroute
4. Julien Dans L'Ascenseur
5. Florence Sur Les champs-Elysees
6. Diner Au Motel
7. Evasion De Julien
8. Visite Du Vigile
9. Au Bar Du Petit Bac
10. Chez Le Photographe Du Motel

Disc 2
1. Nuit sur les Champs-Élysées [Take 1]
2. Nuit sur les ChampsÉlysées [Take 2] 
3. Nuit sur les Champs-Élysées [Take 3] 
4. Nuit sur les Champs-Élysées [Take 4]
5. Assassinat [Take 1]
6. Assassinat [Take 2]
7. Assassinat [Take 3]
8. Dîner au motel [Take 2]
9. Final [Take 1]

Disc 3
1. Final [Take 2]
2. Final [Take 3] (Chez le photographe du motel)
3. L'Interrogatoire de Julien
4. Ascenseur (Evasion de Julien)
5. Petit Bac [Take 1]
6. Petit Bac [Take 2] (Au Bar du Petit Bac)
7. Voiture [Take 1]
8. Voiture [Take 2] (Sur l'autoroute) 

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.