FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Namiki/Hayashi/Nakabayashi - Galaxy Force II / Thunder Blade: Original Arcade Scores (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Namiki/Hayashi/Nakabayashi - Galaxy Force II / Thunder Blade: Original Arcade Scores

(180g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDN73076

For Data Discs' tenth release in partnership with SEGA of Japan, they're offering two arcade classics – Galaxy Force II (1988) and Thunder Blade (1987) – together for the first time ever on vinyl. Composed by Koichi Namiki, Katsuhiro Hayashi and Tohru Nakabayashi, both soundtracks adopted an ambitious funk and fusion style, simulating an impressive range of real world instrumentation (think synthesizers, drums, slap bass and cowbells), which for its time and hardware limitations, is nothing short of astonishing. And yes, there's even a coded slap bass solo.

These two brief, but remarkable soundtracks each accommodate a single side of an LP, but work together seamlessly. Galaxy Force II includes a bonus arranged version of its leading track, "Beyond the Galaxy," produced by Hiroshi "Hiro" Kawaguchi (composer of OutRun, Space Harrier) and features a full studio band, complete with a brass section and a keyboard solo by Hiro himself. In addition, the Thunder Blade side includes three unused tracks.

• Pressed on colored 180g vinyl
• The audio for both games was sourced from the original arcade machines and carefully mastered for vinyl
• Presented in 425gsm sleeve, accompanied by an OBI strip and lithographic print featuring original Galaxy Force II artwork sourced from the SEGA archives in Japan

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Coin
  2. Scene Select
  3. Beyond the Galaxy
  4. Defeat
  5. Take Back
  6. Stage Clear
  7. Alone Fighter
  8. TRY-Z
  9. Name Entry
  10. Beyond the Galaxy ([H.] Arrange Ver.)
  11. Coin
  12. Thunder Blade
  13. Burning Point
  14. Round Clear
  15. Type II
  16. Name Entry
  17. Take Off (Unused)
  18. Primary Attach (Unused)
  19. In Conclusion (Unused)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.