FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Nappy Man Music: Port of Spain, Trinidad 1975-81 - Various Artists (Limit. Ed. Import Vinyl 2LP + 7"
Click to Enlarge

Nappy Man Music: Port of Spain, Trinidad 1975 81 - Various Artists

(Limit. Ed. Import Vinyl 2LP + 7"

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LIN20916

Soul-Pop-Disco-Funk-Calypso-Crossover from Trinidad 1975-1981!

It has been said that Richard 'Nappy' Mayers (1951-1993), the copiously gifted musician, composer, arranger, producer and singer began his earthly sojourn in an era inappropriate for the fullest exploitation of his creative potential. From his teenage years he exhibited an innate impulse to craft melodies that were distinctive and enticing yet reflecting his attraction to the dominant influences of the period particularly American, Jamaican and homeland Trinidad and Tobago. Charismatic and a natural leader, Nappy's enduring passion for creating, performing and producing singularly progressive music so fired initial band members comprising relatives and close friends, that their loyalty and willingness to co-create with him proved key to its extensive popularity.

From teenaged music-makers styled The Tornadoes, his group evolved through several personnel shifts into Embryo to enjoy their most productive and successful phase from the early 70's to 1980 as a trailblazing recording and stage performance outfit. Nappy's ever-fertile mind originated a continuous stream of unique creations with lyrical content ranging from his 1975 premier release "Cash In Calypso/Breakaway" through the 1977 all-time best seller "Wanna Make Love To You" with sultry frontline songstress Nadie La Fond, down to his bittersweet plea in 1991's "Bring Back The Ole Time Days." After he was so unexpectedly taken from us in 1993, it was beyond doubt that Trinidad and Tobago and the world of popular music he too briefly inhabited had lost a phenomenal talent.

The main focus of this compilation is layed on Nappy's early recording years with his own band Embryo and with artists like Nadie La Fond, Felix Ceasar and Colin Lucas. Remastered 180g 2LP-set with bonus 7-inch single (45rpm) and 32-page booklet.

• High quality tracks recorded in Port of Spain/Trinidad between 1975-1981
• Musical blend of Trinidadian Calypso and American R&B and pop music
• Contains tracks from the rare and in demand LP Embryo
• Contains the rare and in demand disco track "Hot For Your Love" by Nadie La Fond on accompanying 7"
• Full color 32-page booklet with liner notes and lots of photos
• Exquisite full-color fold-out sleeve, black plastic-coated inner sleeves

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Wajang Woman - Embryo
  2. Soca (It's Soul Calypso) - Embryo
  3. Light The Light - Embryo
  4. 3 Way Situation - Nadie La Fond
  5. Nothing Is Impossible - Embryo
  6. You're Too Easy - Embryo
  7. Wanna Make Love To You - Nadie La Fond
  8. Ebony Gierl- Nappy Mayers
  9. Poor Man's Son - Sound Revolution
  10. Music Man - Nappy Mayers
  1. Wanna Believe In Love - Nadie La Fond
  2. I Like To Make Love - Embryo
  3. Easy Breezy - Embryo
  4. Let Yourself Go - Nappy Mayers
  5. Makin' Bacchanal - Cesar
  6. Go Down Dancin' - Embryo
  1. Hot For Your Love - Nadie La Fond
  2. Love Is New - Embryo

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.