FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Paul de Jong - You Fucken Sucker (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Paul de Jong - You Fucken Sucker

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDD29819

You Fucken Sucker is the new album by Paul de Jong, cofounder of beloved collage-pop eccentrics, the Books. Presented in the exact sequence in which it was conceived, it charts a grueling and complicated time span in de Jong's life. Over the course of its 14 tracks - which range in length from 15 seconds to nearly 10 minutes - we hear complex tapestries of acoustic and electronic instrumentation submit to waves of unhinged screaming; found-sound assemblage seamlessly incorporating subtle R&B rhythms; Freudian funk; lo-fi prog-metal; and vast synth patch orchestration adding unexpected textures and tension to the whole spectacular mess. Like much of Paul's work, You Fucken Sucker is a genre unto itself, overflowing with innovative exploration of sounds and senses. Unlike his previous work, it's an unvarnished exposition of anger, frustration, misery and confusion. Perhaps most vitally, it's an opportunity for the rest of us to experience the kind of communal emotional purge more typical of his roots; pre-Internet basement punk rock shows - unafraid of being afraid.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Embowelment
  2. It's Only About Sex
  3. Doings
  4. Dimples
  5. The Wind
  6. Almost Doomed
  7. Doomed
  8. Pipe Dream
  9. You Fucken Sucker
  10. Wavehoven
  11. Goor
  12. The Jar Bell
  13. Johnny No Cash
  14. Breaking Up

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.