FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Potatohead People - Nick and Astro's Guide to the Galaxy (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Potatohead People - Nick and Astro's Guide to the Galaxy

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDP07511

Comprised of Vancouver producers and multi-instrumentalists Nick Wisdom and Astrological, Canadian duo Potatohead People boast a number of noteworthy accolades thanks to a their signature sound drawing influences from 90's boom-bap, future soul, classic jazz, deep house and boogie/funk. Beginning with a series of EPs, including their landmark Kosmichemusik EP, Potatohead People's productions quickly made their way to artists like Illa J who tapped the duo to produce his now critically acclaimed self-titled album, as well as producers like Kaytranada (who co-produced Illa J's "Strippers" with the pair). 

Three years after 2015's critically acclaimed full-length debut Big Luxury, Potatohead People are back their long awaited new album Nick & Astro's Guide To The Galaxy. The record picks up right where the pair left off, showcasing a leap forward in production chops, musicality, and songwriting. Lead single "Quest For Love," with it's neck snapping drum break, lush Rhodes chords, cosmic synths, guitar & horn flourishes and unexpected musical changeups, brings in the hip-hop infected musicality the duo has become so loved for, while Nick & Astro collaborate vocally on top.

"Morning Sun" featuring Danish vocalist (and Anderson.Paak collaborator) Nanna.B is in part a melancholy piece with knocking drums, an infectious bassline and a soulful, shimmering hook, while "Do My Thing" featuring Canadian singer Kapok and Illa J is perfect for the dancefloor. "Liftin' Up" featuring San Francisco's K-Maxx ventures into West Coast boogie territories, while the album's closer "Rituals" goes for a deeper more atmospheric electronic vibe.


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Late Show Theme
  2. Morning Sun ft. Nanna.B
  3. Quest For Love
  4. Talking With Gawd
  5. Do My Thing ft. Kapok & Illa J
  6. No Sleep Til MTL
  7. Liftin' Up ft. K-Maxx
  8. All Alone ft. Illa J & Moka Only
  9. Returning The Flavour ft. Trian Kayhatu
  10. Change Of Heart ft. Illa J
  11. El Himno De La Barbería
  12. Rituals

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.