FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Powell St. John - Sultan Of Psychedelia (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Powell St. John - Sultan Of Psychedelia

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDP85016

Powell St. John is unquestionably one of the true founders and innovators of the acid rock sound. A listen here will leave no doubt as to why he has earned the title Sultan Of Psychedelia. Archival recordings of pure rootsy psychedelia by the obscure but iconic 1960's Austin, Texas musician/songwriter who not only wrote the timeless rock classic "Bye, Bye Baby," but also four songs on the legendary first two 13th Floor Elevator albums, Psychedelic Sounds (1966) and Easter Everywhere (1967).

Aside from his songwriting relationship with The Elevators, Powell's musical credentials include stints with The Waller Creek Boys and a young Janis Joplin, the early Austin psych band The Conqueroo, and Mother Earth with Tracy Nelson. Over the years, Powell's songs have been recorded by such artists as Boz Scaggs, Janis Joplin, Doug Sahm, The 13th Floor Elevators, Mother Earth and Roky Erickson. Boz called Powell "a fantastic songwriter," Roky referred to him as "a first-rate harmonica player" and Tracy said he was "the most significant and profound and the least appreciated artist of the era."

The 12 songs on this, the first ever vinyl album of Powell's music, are a mesmerizing mix of psychedelia with basic blues influences, soulful harmonica, brilliant electric guitar that fuses trembling vibrato, effects and fuzz, some "Elevators type" jug and even some Spanish influence on at least one song. The lyrics are masterful strokes of acid-inspired, thought-provoking storytelling. The legendary Roky Erickson joins Powell on "Right Track Now." Other participating artists include: John Ike Walton and Ronnie Leatherman of the 13th Floor Elevators, Mary Ann Price from Dan Hicks & His Hot Licks, and Frosty Smith, drummer for Lee Michaels, Rare Earth and others. Appropriately, "Kingdom Of Heaven," one of the all-time LSD anthems, starts the album.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Kingdom of Heaven
  2. Hermanita
  3. Monkey Island
  4. The Clock Ran
  5. I
  6. The Fl
  7. Bye
  8. Bye Baby
  9. Slide Machine
  10. I Will Forever Sing (The Blues)
  11. Right Track Now
  12. Given Time
  13. Synthetic Love
  14. You Don't Know

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.