FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Ravel - Pictures at an Exhibition - Moussorgsky - Reiner -Chicago Symp Orch (200g 45rpm Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Ravel - Pictures at an Exhibition - Moussorgsky - Reiner -Chicago Symp Orch

(200g 45rpm Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (3)
Item: LAP200145

RCA Living Stereo Classical LPs – the Gold Standard for Top Quality Orchestral Performance and Sound! 

Remastered from the Original Master Tape by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound and Now Cut as 200g 45RPM 2LP-Set!

RCA's "golden age" was more like a "golden minute" - in a scant period, roughly from 1958 to 1963, the beginning of the stereo era - pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and midband illumination. Here we have another sonic and musical blockbuster from the unbeatable combo of Fritz Reiner and RCA recorded in 1957 at Chicago's Orchestra Hall.

Mussorgsky's inspiration for Pictures at an Exhibition was the death of his dear friend, the architect and visual artist Victor Hartman. The piece is known today primarily through the orchestral version created by Maurice Ravel in 1922. In fact, the work had already been orchestrated multiple times, by a variety of lesser names. Some conductors today find that Ravel's version, in spite of its color, sacrifices some of the coarse nature inherent in Mussorgsky's piano original. Furthermore, Ravel worked from Rimsky-Korsakov's edited version of the piano part - the only one available at the time - which changed some notes and rhythms.

None of the orchestrations, however, change the fundamental spirit of the piece. Mussorgsky imagines himself making his way down the hallway that showcased his late friend's work, with his stately procession represented by the Promenade that opens the piece and returns several times. Upon stopping at each image, he reflects on what he sees. Between the early movements, the Promenade returns regularly, as Mussorgsky is conscious of moving from one scene to the next. As the work progresses, however, he becomes less aware of the interval between pictures, and more immersed in the continuous psychological experience of moving from one state of mind to the next. By the end, the composer sees himself transformed by the connection with Hartman through his visual expressions of Russian pride and humanity.

Remastered from the original master tape – now cut at 45 RPM by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound. Lacquers plated by Gary Salstrom and pressed on 200-gram double vinyl at Quality Record Pressings. Deluxe gatefold jacket from Stoughton Printing.

"Grade: A+. Once again, as good as I've heard this record sound. Gorgeous strings, superb bass, avalanche dynamics with that same tape-like ease, sensational inner detail. The authority of the CSO is really something on fortissimo tuttis, of which there are many in Pictures." – Jonathan Valin, The Absolute Sound

Modest Mussorgsky, composer
Maurice Ravel, arrangement
Fritz Reiner, conductor
Chicago Symphony Orchestra

• 200g 45rpm 2LP-set from Analogue Productions
• RCA Living Stereo classical LPs – the gold standard for top quality orchestral performance and sound
• Remastered from the original master tape – now cut at 45 RPM by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound
• Lacquers plated by Gary Salstrom
• Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• Deluxe gatefold jacket from Stoughton Printing




Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Promenade
  2. Gnomus
  3. Promenade
  4. Il Vecchio Castella
  5. Promenade
  6. Tuileries
  7. Bydlo
  8. Promenade
  9. Ballet Of The Chicks In Their Shells
  10. Samuel Goldenburg und Schmuyle
  11. The Market Place At Limoges
  12. Catacombae
  13. Sepulchrum Romanum
  14. Con Mortuis In Lingua Mortua
  15. The Hut On Fowl's Legs
  16. The Great Gate Of Kiev

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.