FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Ray Davies - Our Country: Americana Act 2 (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Ray Davies - Our Country: Americana Act 2

(Vinyl 2LP)

$5.00 - 18%
23Reward Points
Product Not Eligible for Further Discounts
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (2)
Item: LDD03018

The continuing story of The Kinks co-founder's journeys through America, as depicted in his 2013 memoir Americana and the acclaimed album of the same name, Our Country: Americana Act II is a collection borne from Ray Davies' vision of America – how it shaped him and evolved through the years. His reflections on his experiences in America instigate personal reformation, and eventually rediscovery and celebration of his own origins. Our Country, like its predecessor, was recorded at the legendary Konk Studios in London with guitarist Bill Shanley and The Jayhawks once again serving as Davies' backing band plus a group of UK musicians.

The album picks up several intriguing musical threads from Davies' extraordinary songwriting catalog, from the opener "Our Country" – which is developed from a melodic theme heard in Americana's title track – to reinterpretations of songs inspired by America and written for various projects over the years, including "Oklahoma USA" (first heard on The Kinks' Muswell Hillbillies), "The Real World" (from 2007's acclaimed solo album, Working Man's Cafe) and "The Getaway" (from 2006's Other Peoples Lives).

Our Country: Americana Act II was written and arranged by Ray Davies and co-produced with Guy Massey and John Jackson


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Our Country
2. The Invaders (spoken word)
3. Back In The Day
4. Oklahoma U.S.A.
5. Bringing Up Baby
6. The Getaway
7. The Take
8. We Will Get There
9. The Real World
10. A Street Called Hope

1. The Empty Room
2. Calling Home
3. Louisiana Sky
4. March Of The Zombies
5. The Big Weird
6. Tony And Bob
7. The Big Guy
8. Epilogue
9. Muswell Kills

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More