FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Rhiannon Giddens - There Is No Other (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Rhiannon Giddens - There Is No Other

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDG24718

Rhiannon Giddens's latest album, There Is No Other - recorded with Italian multi-instrumentalist Francesco Turrisi - was produced by Joe Henry and tracked over an intensely productive five-day period in Dublin, Ireland. There Is No Other is at once a condemnation of "othering" and a celebration of the spread of ideas, connectivity, and shared experience.

Tracing the overlooked movement of sounds from Africa and the Arabic world and their influence on European and American music, There Is No Other illuminates the universality of music and the commonality of the human experience. It primarily features only Giddens and Turrisi playing one or two instruments together. The album comprises a mix of original songs penned by Giddens and a diverse set of interpretations ranging from Ola Belle Reed's "I'm Gonna Write Me a Letter" and Oscar Brown, Jr.'s "Brown Baby" to the Italian traditional "Pizzica di San Vito" to the aria "Black Swan" by Gian-Carlo Menotti.

There Is No Other was recorded with little editing and overdubbing. Giddens sings and plays minstrel banjo, octave violin, and viola. Turrisi plays piano, accordion, frame drum, tamburello, lute, cello banjo, daf, and colascione. They are joined on four songs by Kate Ellis on cello. The array of instruments reveal the sonic ties that bind between African, Arabic, European, and American cultures.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Ten Thousand Voices (with Francesco Turrisi)
  2. Gonna Write Me a Letter (with Francesco Turrisi)
  3. Wayfaring Stranger (with Francesco Turrisi)
  4. There Is No Other (with Francesco Turrisi)
  5. Trees on the Mountains (with Francesco Turrisi)
  6. Pizzica di San Vito (with Francesco Turrisi)
  7. Brown Baby (with Francesco Turrisi)
  8. Briggs' Forró (with Francesco Turrisi)
  1. Little Margaret (with Francesco Turrisi)
  2. Black Swan (with Francesco Turrisi)
  3. I'm On My Way (with Francesco Turrisi)
  4. He Will See You Through (with Francesco Turrisi)
  5. Hard Times/Camptown Hornpipe (with Francesco Turrisi)
  6. Beth Cohen's Set (with Francesco Turrisi)
  7. Spiritual (with Francesco Turrisi)
  8. As You Wish (with Francesco Turrisi)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio
MD 2020 Catalog


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More