FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Rick Nelson - Rick is 21 (180g Import Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Rick Nelson - Rick is 21

(180g Import Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LIN01989

Two Original Albums: Rick Is 21 and Album Seven by Rick

Historically, Ricky Nelson was television's original teen idol, but he was not just another pretty face with a guitar. His talents made him a well-respected pioneer of classic rock 'n' roll and rockabilly on par with his idols Elvis Presley and Carl Perkins. While Elvis was considered by many adults to be vulgar and threatening, 17-year-old Ricky, as part of the all-American Nelson family, managed to sneak rock 'n' roll into millions of living rooms every week via his family's TV show, The Adventures Of Ozzie & Harriet.

As the titled announced, 1961's Rick Is 21 ushered in the more mature Rick Nelson. Rick's  love for country music is heavily reflected in this collection and most importantly it contained the biggest record of his career, "Travelin' Man," which became his last #1 single. Coupled with "Hello Mary Lou," which itself went to #9, the double-sided hit has accounted for in excess of seven million in sales. Rick Is 21 was also the biggest selling album of his career, reaching #8 and staying on the charts for almost one full year.

Nelson's last album before moving on to Decca Records, fellow 1961 release Album Seven was even more country influenced than its predecessor. It more than anything points to the direction Rick was heading in when he formed his famed Stone Canyon Band in the late 60's.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. My One Desire
  2. That Warm Summer Night
  3. Break My Chain
  4. Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans
  5. I'll Make Believe
  6. Travelin' Man
  7. Oh Yeah, I'm In Love
  8. Everybody But Me
  9. Lucky Star
  10. Sure Fire Bet
  11. Stars Fell On Alabama
  12. Hello Mary Lou
  13. Summertime
  14. Congratulations
  15. Baby You Don't Know
  16. I Can't Stop Loving You
  17. Excuse Me Baby
  18. History Of Love
  19. Today's Teardrops
  20. Mad Mad World
  21. Thank You Darling
  22. Poor Loser
  23. Stop Sneakin' 'Round
  24. There's Not A Minute

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.