FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Robert Pollard - Not In My Airforce (Limited Edition Vinyl LP + 7")
Click to Enlarge

Robert Pollard Not In My Airforce

(Limited Edition Vinyl LP + 7")

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDP86712

Guided By Voices Inc. is more excited than a bucket of photo-excited electrons to announce the 20th anniversary reissue of Robert Pollard's first solo album Not In My Airforce. Originally released by Matador Records in September 1996, the album includes several songs that have become fan favorites and staples of GBV live shows throughout the years: "Psychic Pilot Clocks Out," "Flat Beauty," "Quicksilver," "Get Under It," and "Maggie Turns To Flies," among others. Other album tracks have inspired a band name ("Release The Sunbird"), a music blog ("The Ash Gray Proclamation") and a record label ("Prom Is Coming"). We're pretty sure that at least one British nuclear missile-equipped submarine has been named after "Parakeet Troopers," but MI6 refuses to confirm.

The vinyl version of the album includes a six-song seven-inch single, which was the original plan in 1996, before the bean-counters insisted on combining the bonus songs with the CD and LP. These bonus songs ("Party," "Did It Play?," "Double Standards Inc.," "Punk Rock Gods," "Meet My Team," and "Good Luck Sailor") swelled the original release to 22 songs – not that there's anything wrong with that. Everyone can agreethat more Bob is good. The charming, good-looking, record-buying public would like to hear NIMAF as both God and Bob originally intended.

This is a landmark recording in the Pollardian corpus, in that it both presaged the flood of solo albums, side projects, collaborations, and line-up changes to come, and established the precedent that Robert Pollard, whether solo or in concert with his Dayton, OH, pals, is a flat-out miracle worker of songcraft.

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Maggie Turns To Flies
  2. Quicksilver
  3. A Girl Named Captain
  4. Get Under It
  5. Release The Sunbird
  6. John Strange School
  7. Parakeet Troopers
  8. One Clear Minute
  9. Chance To Buy An Island
  10. I've Owned You For Centuries
  11. The Ash Gray Proclamation
  12. Flat Beauty
  13. King Of Arthur Avenue
  14. Roofer's Union Fight Song
  15. Psychic Pilot Clocks Out
  16. Prom Is Coming
  1. Party (Bonus Track)
  2. Did It Play? (Bonus Track)
  3. Double Standards Inc. (Bonus Track)
  4. Punk Rock Gods (Bonus Track)
  5. Meet My Team (Bonus Track)
  6. Good Luck Sailor (Bonus Track)

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.