FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Roger Waters - Live Radio: Quebec Broadcast 1987 (Import Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Roger Waters - Live Radio: Quebec Broadcast 1987

(Import Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LIW7214

By 1987 Roger Waters had long since parted ways with his Pink Floyd cohorts. Having left the group on acrimonious terms - not helped by the controversies surrounding The Final Cut and the ongoing court battles over the Pink Floyd name - Waters had by this juncture put out two solo albums, The Pros And Cons Of Hitch Hiking (1984) and Radio K.A.O.S. (1987), in addition to having contributed to the score of animated film When The Wind Blows in 1986. In a similar vein as his previous jaunts, Waters' Radio K.A.O.S. Tour was an extravagant and ambitious affair. Backed by The Bleeding Heart Band who he'd worked alongside since When the Wind Blows - the shows boasted live projections, quadraphonic sound, circular screens and even a telephone box that would allow audience members to direct questions to Waters himself.

However, in contrast to his previous outings, Roger chose not to play his new album in its entirety, instead electing to intersperse his recent songs with Pink Floyd classics, albeit mostly ones on which he held the sole writing credit. These were stylistically upgraded: keyboardist Paul Carrick sang David Gilmour's parts in a blue-eyed soul style, Andy Fairweather-Low added several funk bass parts, "Welcome to the Machine" included a saxophone solo and more emphasis was given to female backing singers. The results of all this can now be heard majestically on vinyl for the first time. Captured at the Colisée de Québec in Canada on November 7, 1987, and broadcast simultaneously over FM radio, Roger Waters proves that despite his difficulties, his reputation as one of the finest performers in progressive rock remained unchallenged.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Radio Waves
  2. Welcome To The Machine
  3. Money
  4. In The Flesh
  5. Have A Cigar
  6. Pigs (Three Different Ones)
  7. Wish You Were Here
  8. Mother
  9. Get You Filthy Hands Off My Desert / Southampton Dock
  10. If
  11. The Powers That Be
  12. Breathe
  13. Brain Damage / Eclipse
  14. Another Brick In The Wall, Pt. 1
  15. The Happiest Days Of Our Lives
  16. Another Brick In The Wall, Pt. 2

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.