FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Salad Boys - This Is Glue (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Salad Boys - This Is Glue

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDS83485

Christchurch, New Zealand's Salad Boys are back with This Is Glue, the follow up to their critically acclaimed 2015 debut album Metalmania. Recorded once again by bandleader/guitarist Joe Sampson at his home studio, This Is Glue's 12 songs dig deeper, with sharper hooks embedded deep within a more mature musicality. This Is Glue hones Sampson's songwriting chops to a razor edge, with many of the album's songs sounding utterly timeless. The riffs and melodies seem all too familiar, perhaps recalling greats that came before them (The Chills, R.E.M., The Bats), but Sampson has a voice all his own and This Is Glue's tunes tread upon a singular path of measured melancholy.

The themes are darker, the lyrics more claustrophobic and yearning with Sampson confronting anxiety, mortality, and fear through the his abstract lyrical lens; a cracked world view, to be sure. Songs like "Exaltation," "Dogged Out" and"Divided" convey a world-weariness of a man twice his age. That's not to say that This Is Glue is all doom and gloom; album opener "Blown Up" kick-starts with motorik drumming that crescendos into a thrilling guitar ri that could crack mountains. "Psych Slasher" crashes forward frenetically awash in phaser before easing into a melodic denouement buoyed by a bubbling synthesizer before a tidal wave of guitar crashes down again. Existential angst has never felt so exhilarating.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Blown Up
  2. Hatred
  3. Psych Slasher
  4. Right Time
  5. Choking Sick
  6. Exaltation
  7. In Heaven
  8. Under The Bed
  9. Dogged Out
  10. Scenic Route To Nowhere
  11. Going Down Slow
  12. Divided

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.