FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Solar Power: New Sounds in Seattle Hip Hop - Various Artists (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Solar Power: New Sounds in Seattle Hip Hop - Various Artists

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDS79214

Emerging from the grey-green Pacific Northwest, Solar Power: New Sounds in Seattle Hip-Hop collects the best and brightest tracks from Seattle's current hip-hop underground. This is music that thrives in the shadows, in basements, abandoned warehouses and undiscovered realms where mixtapes and mics are passed like spliffs. Local media has been positive: The Stranger declared that Solar Power "shines a light on Seattle hip-hop's experimental brilliance." Much like a sunbreak crashing through the gloom, this record illuminates a wildly diverse spectrum of talented, of-the-moment MCs and producers.

These 14 cuts alternately build upon and refute the idiosyncratic foundations laid by Shabazz Palaces, Blue Scholars, Macklemore and Sir Mix-A-Lot. Seven of these songs are from the queens of the current scene, including a short, dense firework from THEESatisfaction's Stas Thee Boss, DoNormaal's haunting nouveau trip-hop, and G-Funk inspired R&B from Gifted Gab. Jarv Dee's town classic "I Just Wanna" is the requisite Washington state weed anthem, while Dave B's "Kandi" masterfully counterpoints smoldering guitars with vocal acrobatics. It all comes wrapped inside a radiant, reflective sun painted by Seattle artist Ari Glass

Seattle, rain-damp and stir-crazy, sequestered and inventive, generates its own seductive energy, especially when it comes to music. Drop the needle on any song here and you'll hear a tale untold, an equation without a solution, an anthem in search of a nation that's ready to fight, fuck or dance. This album is an instant artifact, capturing in permanent wax some of the ephemeral energy and angst of this auspicious, confounding moment in time. Recently proclaimed as "the best new music currently coming out of America!" by Tokyo's hip-hop mecca Manhattan Records, Solar Power is the freshest hip-hop you'll hear all year. 

• 14 songs from the most exciting artists in Seattle's emerging underground hip-hop scene
• Includes unreleased tracks, exclusive mixes and greatest hits
• Specially mastered for vinyl by Adam Straney
• Original cover art by Seattle visual artist Ari Glass
• Extensive liner notes by Jonathan Zwickel

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. DoNormaal - Dodo Call
  2. Remember Face - Hugo Stiglitz feat. Eff Is H
  3. Stas Thee Boss - Tried It
  4. Guayaba - Uh Oh
  5. JusMoni - Expectations
  6. New Track City - Know Better
  7. Taylar Elizza Beth - Stop Calling My Phone
  8. Gifted Gab - Show You Right
  9. Dave B. - Kandi
  10. Astro King Phoenix - Buttered Flies
  11. ZELLi - No Ca$h feat. Porky $coop!
  12. Jarv Dee - I Just Wanna 4:20am (Remix)
  13. Raven Matthews - Front Steps
  14. Sendai Era - Paint

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.