FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Switchfoot - Nothing Is Sound (180g Colored Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Switchfoot - Nothing Is Sound

(180g Colored Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDS07738

Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

Multi-platinum San Diego-based rock band Switchfoot's fifth studio album, 2005's Nothing Is Sound arrived two years after the release of their major label debut, the double-platinum The Beautiful Letdown, which yielded two Top 5 hit singles: "Meant to Live" and "Dare You to Move." Touring nonstop, Switchfoot had no choice but to write and record the bulk of the album on the road. While this on-the-fly approach was predicated on necessity, it did have one major benefit - enabling the band to road-test new songs in front of a highly vocal crowd immediately after it was finished.

"This record was written in back alleys and hotel rooms far from home," explained frontman and primary songwriter Jon Foreman, explaining the difference between Nothing Is Sound and its predecessor. "It's more eclectic, less settled, with more dissonance. We've tried to capture the emotional ride that happens on stage and put it into the studio. Playing that hard every night really stretches you, and all these diverse experiences have played a key role in shaping this record."

The band wound up recording parts of the album in unfamiliar locales as far away as South Africa, and other parts as close to home as one can get - Foreman's San Diego bedroom. John Fields, who produced The Beautiful Letdown, oversaw the sessions and put them all together for Nothing Is Sound. "If you can combine the more-professional-sounding elements with the honesty of doing it yourself, those are the best records," Foreman asserts. "They're honest and pure but listenable."

• Colored 180g 2LP-set
• Mastered for vinyl and lacquers created using half speed masterkng by Stan Ricker
• Includes bonus track "Goodnight Punk"
• Housed in a reverse board gatefold jacket with 11 x 22 insert

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Lonely Nation
2. Stars
3. Happy Is A Yuppie Word
4. The Shadow Proves The Sunshine
5. Easier Than Love
6. The Blues

1. The Setting Sun
2. Politicians
3. Golden
4. The Fatal Wound
5. We Are One Tonight
6. Daisy
7. Goodnight Punk

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.