FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Holiday 2018 > Must-Hear Analog Reissues of 2018 > Terry Callier - The New Folk Sound of Terry Callier: Deluxe Edition (180g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Terry Callier - The New Folk Sound of Terry Callier: Deluxe Edition

(180g Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDC53441

First Official Vinyl Reissue: Lacquers Cut By Kevin Gray At Cohearent Audio & Pressed At RTI

Expanded 180g 2LP Deluxe Edition Features 5 Previously Unreleased Alternate Takes, 2 Tracks Making Their Vinyl Debut & New Liner Notes By Jason Woodbury

Recorded in 1965 at the height of the folk revival, Terry Callier's Prestige debut album, The New Folk Sound of Terry Callier marked him as an important new voice. His approach to traditional material was comparable to that of Paul Robeson or Josh White, but evidence of his originality can be heard on every song here. Callier's guitar work was quite adventurous by folk standards, incorporating chord voicings one might expect to hear in a modern jazz context. He was also a powerful vocalist with a flair for drama that could evoke Odetta at her best. This new Deluxe Edition 180g 2LP-set from Craft Recordings includes five previously unreleased alternate takes ("900 Miles," "Promenade In Green," "It's About Time," "Be My Woman," "Oh Dear, What Can The Matter Be") along with two tracks making their vinyl debut ("Jack O'Diamonds," "Golden Apples of the Sun"), as well as new liner notes by Jason Woodbury which help narrate this lost gem.

• First official vinyl reissue, pressed on double 180-gram vinyl at RTI
• Lacquers cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
• New liner notes narrate this almost-"lost album," recorded in 1965 and originally released in 1968
• Features 5 previously unreleased alternate versions & 2 tracks making their vinyl debut

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. 900 Miles 
2. Oh Dear, What Can the Matter Be 
3. Johnny Be Gay If You Can Be 
4. Cotton Eyed Joe 
5. It’s About Time
6. Promenade in Green 
7. Spin, Spin, Spin
8. I’m a Drifter 

1. Jack O’Diamonds 
2. Golden Apples of the Sun
3. Promenade in Green [take 1]*
4. Be My Woman [take 1]*
5. 900 Miles [take 1]*
6. It’s About Time [take 2]*
7. Oh Dear, What Can The Matter Be [take 2]*

*previously unreleased

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.