FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Beginning Of The End - Funky Nassau (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Beginning Of The End - Funky Nassau

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDB18412

Strut presents the definitive reissues of two all-time classic Caribbean soul and funk albums, The Beginning Of The End's Funky Nassau (1971) and Beginning Of The End (1976). These definitive official reissues were remastered by The Carvery from original tapes and feature full length tracks from the studio sessions. Both reissues also include a detailed history of the album and the band by vocalist Ray Munnings, alongside rare photos.

Emerging from Nassau in the Bahamas in 1971, the band was formed around the Munnings brothers (Ray, Leroy and Frank) and the first song they recorded, "Funky Nassau," became a No. 1 Billboard R&B hit, selling over a million copies. "We wanted to create something new," remembers Ray, "something that was truly Bahamian. We loved funk but wanted to include elements of junkanoo, the indigenous music of The Bahamas." An album was written within a week and recorded at Criteria Studios in Miami. "We brought in more Bahamian themes, like ‘Monkey Tamarind', a wild fruit that grows there."

By the time of their second album in 1976, the band was managed by Don Taylor, also Bob Marley's manager. "Don took us to Byron Lee's studio in Jamaica and used Teddy Randazzo (Little Anthony & The Imperials) to direct the sessions," adds Ray. "He gave us more of an uptempo jazz funk sound with Chicago-style horns." The album led to a run of incredible bad luck. Booked to support Marvin Gaye's What's Goin' On tour, the US Musicians Union stepped in and ordered a US group to fill the slot. They then joined a major Bob Marley tour in 1976 before he injured his foot, cancelling all dates.


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Funky Nassau (Part 1)
  2. Funky Nassau (Part 2)
  3. Come Down
  4. Sleep On Dream On
  5. Surrey Ride
  6. Monkey Tamarind
  7. In The Deep
  8. Pretty Girl
  9. When She Made Me Promise

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.