FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Coke Dares - Fake Lake (Colored Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Coke Dares - Fake Lake

(Colored Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDC92369

Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

The Coke Dares (guitarist Jason Groth, bassist Peter Schreiner and drummer Mark Rice) are the core trio of Jason Molina's Magnolia Electric Co. and Fake Lake is the band's 35-song, 44-minute magnum opus. Equal parts Sparks and Minutemen, Fake Lake is densely packed with smart near-prog arrangements and quirky new wave humor performed at breakneck hardcore punk speed. After a brief instrumental palate cleanser, Fake Lake opens in earnest with "You Say A Lot," an irresistibly sarcastic piece of Devo mutant pop that quickly transitions to an extremely short ode to pencils ("Editor") that's equal parts dream pop and faux-country ballad. From there, the album tumbles from one mood to another, featuring obtusely wistful travelogues and road memoirs ("We Went to a Restaurant," "Jammin' with J-Mo") radio airplay-defying bathroom talk ("Please Say Fuck," "Came to Shit") and literally dozens of other future-classic earworms.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. The Coke Dares Theme One
  2. You Say a Lot
  3. Editor
  4. Miss Missed Opportunity
  5. We Went to a Restaurant
  6. Droppin' Out
  7. He Was Bigger Than Me
  8. Jammin with J-Mo
  9. (I Like) Stuff
  10. Please Say Fuck
  11. Honey Pie
  12. CTRL, ALT, DEL
  13. Came to Shit
  14. Nobody Knows What You Are, Pillbottle
  15. No More Cutting Floor
  16. Drivin' on Sunday
  17. Fake Lake
  18. The Coke Dares Theme Six
  19. (No Use Denyin') I Like to Drive
  20. Don't Pretend You're Alone
  21. I'm Just Lookin' for My Manager
  22. Water Purse
  23. Please Just Stop Not Shutting Up
  24. Tired and Wired
  25. Why Do I Feel This Way About Henrik?
  26. Call Me High School
  27. Bed of Ashes
  28. Pontiac Blues
  29. Don't Deny
  30. I'm Making Music at the Library
  31. Phantasy Book
  32. Smaller Dogs
  33. Monotone
  34. You Woulda Thought They'd A'Thought of That By Now
  35. The Coke Dares Theme Three

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.