FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > The Visitors - The Deniz Tek Collection Vol. 1 (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

The Visitors - The Deniz Tek Collection Vol. 1

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDV30696

Wild Honey Records is proud to present a new series of releases, following the career of rock 'n' roll icon Deniz Tek post Radio Birdman. With this collection, they will reissue (sometimes for the first time on vinyl) all his solo and band material post '78, with new material, liner notes, graphics and bonus tracks. They begin with the long-awaited reissue on vinyl of the legendary Visitors LP.

In 1978 when Deniz Tek and Rob Younger returned via the USA to Australia, Radio Birdman had taken heavy losses on the British tour. While the two founding members had fully expected to reconstitute the band in Australia, the damage was too great to repair. That's when Deniz and original Birdman keyboardist Pip Hoyle relocated to Newcastle to finish their medical internships. After about six months they began to collaborate with Mark Sisto, the old Radio Birdman sidekick and bodyguard who had remained loyal even after being ejected from the British tour a year earlier. From 1978 to 1979 The Visitors were Deniz on guitar, Sisto on vocals, Ron Keeley on drums, Hoyle on keyboards and Steve Harris on bass. Their style was a dark mixture.

The band being 3/5ths Birdman, including the chief songwriter, was essentially what the next phase of Radio Birdman would have been, had that band continued on. At the same time, the sound of the band was more like the early Birdman days with the single guitar and keyboard format. The music was hard and heavy, while maintaining a melodic sense unusual in those immediate post-punk days.
The Visitors recorded a session's worth of demos at the 8-track Palm Studio in Sydney, essentially playing their entire set live in the studio direct to tape. From this source tape, recorded in one day with minimal overdubs, came a 12" vinyl EP, a full length LP, now impossible to find. Now it's finally time for a much needed reissue, complete with the bonus track "Skimp the Pimp".

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Living World
  2. Brother John
  3. Haunted Road
  4. Life Spill
  5. Journey By Sledge
  6. Sad TV
  7. Miss You Too Much
  8. Euro Girls
  9. Let's Have Some Fun
  10. Hell Yes
  11. Disperse
  12. Skimp The Pimp

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.