FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Those Who Walk Away - The Infected Mass (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Those Who Walk Away - The Infected Mass

(180g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDT12212

Those Who Walk Away is the new project of Winnipeg-based composer Matthew Patton, best known for his widely acclaimed musical score (and Emmy Award-winning collaboration) Speaking In Tongues with the choreographer Paul Taylor. The Infected Mass is a haunted and profoundly emotive requiem of minimalist composition that combines ghostly strings and choral voices with musique concrète; melodic passages rise and fall amidst rumbling and sibilant drones sourced from humming and whispering voices and the sound of human blood flow, punctuated by cockpit voice recordings of airplanes in distress.

The Infected Mass is a powerful work of contemporary sacral music, executed with elegiac beauty and restraint. Recorded in Winnipeg and Reykjavik, a quintet of Winnipeg-based string players combines with a quartet of Icelandic Symphony Orchestra players (who've previously played on Sigur Rós, Jóhann Jóhannsson and Bedroom Community recordings) performing ‘ghost strings' and 'ghost choir' for this Mass. Patton, as composer, arranger and producer, then obsessively sculpts these recordings with erasure techniques, seeking liminal and transcendent horizons of sonic materiality through absence, subtraction, silence and collapsing structure. 

180 gram vinyl includes 12 x 24 art print poster plus 320kbps MP3 download.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Before the Beginning
  2. First Degraded Hymn
  3. First Partially Recollected Conversation
  4. Second Degraded Hymn
  5. Second Partially Recollected Conversation
  6. Third Degraded Hymn
  7. After the End

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.