FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Vattnet - Vattnet (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Vattnet - Vattnet

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDV19096

The eight songs on Vattnets' (formerly Vattnet Viskar) new self-titled album serve as a grand sonic departure from the tremelo picking, blast beats and guttural vocals of the band's formative years. They boldly raise the bar set on 2015's Settler and their 2013 debut album Sky Swallower, with an aurally diverse blend of melody, heavy angular progressive riffs and and clean vocals from singer/guitarist Casey Aylward, now stepping into the lead vocal position after the departure of Nick Thornbury.

Produced/engineered by friend and fellow Astronoid member Dan Schwartz, Vattnet's new sound is more in tune with progressive metal acts like Rosetta, Intronaut and The Ocean while Aylward's vocals have hints of Deftones' Chino Moreno mixed with Robert Smith of The Cure and lyrically touches on topics of deep loss and pain that the band have carried over from their past albums. Songs like "Better Ghost" and "Sugar" are filled with raw, visceral lyrics, dynamic songwriting and anthemic hooks that finds the band juxtaposing the darker lyrical themes with dizzying new heights of atmospheric and melodic metal.

With the transition to new label New Damage for the release of such a venturesome album, the band feels unrestricted and free to reach for new heights. For Alfieri, the band's new album represents his return to the pre-black metal influences that inspired him early in his childhood. Their music has always been a time and place for them, and though the band doesn't rule out the possibility of one day returning to their black metal roots, it is clear by the bold and adventurous nature of their new album that they have no intention of looking back.


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Spun
  2. Dark Black
  3. Sugar
  4. Better Ghost
  5. Sister
  6. Chains
  7. Time Will Prove Everything
  8. Funeral

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.