FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Wayne Snow - Freedom TV (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Wayne Snow - Freedom TV

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDS80717

After two incredible EPs, Wayne Snow – the Nigerian-born, Berlin-based vocalist and songwriter –  presents his debut album on Tartelet Records. Freedom TV is the natural sequel to the Max Graef-produced tasters Red Runner (2014) and Rosie (2015); a project marinated in Afro-Caribbean, soulful grooves and topped by Wayne's effortless falsetto acrobatics. As the title suggests, Freedom TV is an album with themes of liberty, struggle and creative identity pumping through its veins. Snow fluently meanders between musical styles: from low-tempo soothers like album opener "Cooler" and "Fall" to the syncopated bruk of "The Rhythm" and cosmic funk escapades found on "Nothing Wrong."

Production comes from three varied and solid sources. The tag-team between Snow and fellow Berliner, Max Graef – which started on Graef's still unfuckwithable 2014 debut Rivers of the Red Planet – is in full effect. The result is six tracks ("Cooler," "Still In The Shell," "Drunk," "Red Runner," "Rosie" and "Fall") anchored by Graef's now-signature brew of warm-to-the-touch boom-bap, soul, jazz and house. Elsewhere, trips to see the French capital and Neue Grafik yielded three stormers: "The Rhythm," "Freedom R.I.P" and "Nothing But The Best."

The works of criminally overlooked, Zimbabwean guerilla fighter-poet, Freedom TV Nyamubaya (✝1958-2015), bind everything together. It's her verses which occupy the end of soul-searching, Peven Everett-esque joint "Freedom R.I.P" and provide a regular referential touchpoint. More than anything, Freedom TV is the soundtrack for anyone seeking a wholesome exploration of groove. Smooth and contagiously danceable at points, Wayne Snow has arrived in album territory with an assured cool.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Cooler
  2. Still in the Shell
  3. Drunk
  4. Red Runner
  5. The Rhythm
  6. Rosie
  7. Fall
  8. Nothing Wrong
  9. Freedom R.I.P
  10. Nothing But the Best

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.