FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Wilco - AM: Deluxe (180g Vinyl 2LP) * * *
Click to Enlarge

Wilco - AM: Deluxe

(180g Vinyl 2LP) * * *

23Reward Points
Product Not Eligible for Further Discounts
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (11)
Item: LDW32909

180g 2LP Deluxe Edition includes Original Album Plus 8 Previously Unissued Outtakes and Liner Notes by John Stirratt

Wilco's A.M.: Deluxe Edition augments the original album with eight unreleased tracks including an early version of "Outtasite (Outta Mind)" and "When You Find Trouble," the last studio recording by Uncle Tupelo. As John Stirratt puts it in his liner notes for the reissue, "Listening back to records 15 to 20 years later, I'm always taken with the confident but guileless quality of bands in their 20s, that strange mixture of innocence and conviction...we were barely a band at that point, just trying to make some noise."

Established from the ashes of alt-country legends Uncle Tupelo by singer/guitarist Jeff Tweedy, Wilco initially followed its roots instincts. With fellow cohorts John Stirratt and Ken Coomer also aboard, the band's 1995 debut builds on Uncle Tupelo's brand of up swinging country-rock and good-natured songwriting. Fans that had previously fallen in love with Tweedy and company's Americana tint found plenty to love here. Since it was being recorded while ex-Uncle Tupelo member Jay Farrar was making his debut with Son Volt, everyone wondered what band would get its album out first and how they would fare. Reflecting the internal drive that has allowed him to become one of contemporary music's most influential artists, Tweedy's new project beat that of his former mate by several months. History has also proven the record's lasting power.

Mixed with radioplay in mind, A.M. is stacked with modest yet playful arrangements, straightforward hooks, and fun-loving humor - as well as a bit of drunken debauchery. Yes, those are actual beer bottles clanking together in simultaneous unison on the contagious "Casino Queen." Not to be outdone, the bar-favorite "Passenger Side" stumbles and staggers as Tweedy laments what it's like to lose a driver's license to a DUI arrest. Spirited and soulful, this is where Wilco launched its now-trademark sound. A.M. remains both a great starting point for newcomers as well as a pleasant place to revisit for listeners that might have missed it the first time around.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
LP1 - Original Album
  1. I Must Be High
  2. Casino Queen
  3. Box Full Of Letters
  4. Shouldn't Be Ashamed
  5. Pick Up The Change
  6. I Thought I Held You
  7. That's Not The Issue
  8. It's Just That Simple
  9. Should've Been In Love
  10. Passenger Side
LP2 - Original Album + Bonus Tracks
  1. Dash 7
  2. Blue Eyed Soul
  3. Too Far Apart
  4. When You Find Trouble – Uncle Tupelo
  5. Those I'll Provide
  6. Lost Love (Take 1 Vocal 2)
  7. Myrna Lee
  8. She Don't Have To See You
  9. Outtasite (Outta Mind) (Early Version) (Take 6)
  10. Piss It Away
  11. Hesitation Rocks

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.