FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Wilco - Being There (180g Vinyl 4LP)***
Click to Enlarge

Wilco - Being There

(180g Vinyl 4LP)***

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (7)
Item: LDW32893

180g 4LP Deluxe Edition includes Original Album, 15 Previously Unissued Demos, Outtakes & Never Before Heard Songs, KCRW Session and Liner Notes by Steve Hyden

Wilco's boundary expanding second album Being There (1996) turned 21 in 2017, so it's officially old enough to go out there and have one on its own. To celebrate, this new deluxe 180g 4LP reissue adds a 15-pack of bonus tracks including alternate versions of "I Got You" and "Say You Miss Me," plus never-before-released recordings like "Dynamite My Soul" and "Better When I'm Gone." Also included is Wilco's 1996 session from KCRW's Morning Becomes Eclectic radio show. In-depth liner notes from journalist Steven Hyden are the proverbial straw that stirs the drink.

Motivated by leader Jeff Tweedy's desire to improve on his band's debut A.M. and informed by numerous life changes including the birth of his first child, Being There begins a cycle of creativity and ambition in Wilco's career that has yet to let up. Far more mature and advanced than anything Tweedy and Co. had done before, the eclectic double album finds the group moving beyond straightforward country-rock and embracing a gambit of styles that encompass power-pop, romantic balladry, barroom-brawling rock, and immersive psychedelia. A journey that is ultimately about finding solace in rock n' roll, Being There is a seminal record in every sense and it has only bettered with the passage of time.

The late Jay Bennett, a guitarist and multi-instrumentalist who joined the band before the recording sessions, is also largely responsible for the artistic growth. His keen pop sensibilities and keyboard playing expand Wilco's core rootsy sound, while Tweedy pushes himself as a songwriter. Introspective, surreal, and personal, tunes such as the explosive "Misunderstood" and meditative "Hotel Arizona" signal the arrival of a singular talent coming to terms with his own anxiety, restlessness, and dreams. And the band is up to the challenge. In addition to blending myriad sounds, Wilco gets more comfortable with the studio and adorns several arrangements with horns, strings, and hand claps.


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
LP1 - Original Album
  1. Misunderstood
  2. Far, Far Away
  3. Monday
  4. Outtasite (Outta Mind)
  5. Forget The Flowers
  6. Red-eyed And Blue
  7. I Got You (At The End Of The Century)
  8. What's The World Got In Store
  9. Hotel Arizona
  10. Say You Miss Me
LP2 - Original Album
  1. Sunken Treasure
  2. Someday Soon
  3. Outta Mind (Outta Sight)
  4. Someone Else's Song
  5. Kingpin
  6. (Was I) In Your Dreams
  7. Why Would You Wanna Live
  8. The Lonely 1
  9. Dreamer In My Dreams
LP3 - Outtakes/Alternates/Demos
  1. Late Blooming Son
  2. I've Got You (Dobro Mix Warzone)
  3. Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind (Alternate)
  4. Far, Far Away (Dark Side Of The Room)
  5. Dynamite My Soul
  6. Losing Interest
  7. Why Would You Wanna Live (Alternate)
  8. Sun's A Star
  9. Capitol City
  10. Better When I'm Gone
  11. Dreamer In My Dreams (Alternate Rough Take)
LP4 - Outtakes/Alternates/Demos
  1. Say You Miss Me (Alternate)
  2. I Got You (Alternate)
  3. Monday (Party Horn Version)
  4. I Can't Keep From Talking
  5. Sunken Treasure
  6. Red-eyed And Blue
  7. Far, Far Away
  8. Will You Love Me Tomorrow

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.