FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Wilko Johnson - I Keep It to Myself: The Best of Wilko Johnson (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Wilko Johnson - I Keep It to Myself: The Best of Wilko Johnson

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDJ75644

Wilko Johnson is known to most as the one-time Dr Feelgood guitarist, who cultivated a raucous, R&B-indebted style that helped presage punk in the mid-70s, before going on to play with Ian Dury And The Blockheads and leading his own Wilko Johnson Band throughout the 80s. His insatiable thirst for gut-bucket R&B, shot through with his own electrifying, bone-rattling stylings, has bequeathed a litter of compelling recordings.

Continuing his association with the reactivated Chess imprint, the label that issued so many of the tunes that inspired him in his youth, I Keep It To Myself – The Best Of Wilko Johnson draws together 25 tracks recorded between 2008 and 2012 by the legendary guitarist and songwriter with backing largely provided by Norman Watt-Roy (bass) and Dylan Howe (drums), the same rhythm section that performed on Wilko's enormously successful Going Back Home album with Roger Daltrey.

While the Daltry songs – among them "Turned 21" and "Ice On The Motorway" – bring Wilko's musical story up to date, the likes of "Roxette" and "She Does It Right" are newly recorded versions of Wilko-penned Dr Feelgood classics on which the guitarist gives his past a few fresh new licks.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Roxette
  2. She Does It Right
  3. I Keep It To Myself
  4. Ice On The Motorway
  5. Back In The Night
  6. Turned 21
  7. Paradise
  8. Barbed Wire Blues
  9. Dr Dupree
  10. Sneaking Suspicion
  11. Living In The Heart Of Love
  12. Some Kind Of Hero
  13. Twenty Yards Behind
  1. Out In The Traffic
  2. Cairo Blues
  3. The Hook
  4. Keep On Loving You
  5. All Right
  6. When I'm Gone
  7. Come Back And Love Me
  8. She's Good Like That
  9. The Beautiful Madrilena
  10. Underneath Orion
  11. Down By The Waterside
  12. I Really Love Your Rock'n'Roll

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.