FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Wynder K. Frog - Sunshine Super Frog (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Wynder K. Frog - Sunshine Super Frog

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDW87975

The Wynder K. Frog story evolves around Mick Weaver. After he switched from piano to organ he joined a band named The Chapters that would soon be renamed Wynder K. Frog and perform material from James Brown's Flames, Booker T. and The MGs and even songs learned through Georgie Fame's recordings and Graham Bond's repertoire. Wynder K. Frog moved to London and became regulars in the city's R&B scene playing at swingin' London's clubs like the Tiles and The Marquee.

A contract with Island Records was secured and – under the wings of producers like Chris Blackwell, Guy Stevens, Jimmy Miller and Gus Dudgeon – Wynder K Frog, a name that would eventually be used as a pseudonym for Weaver more than a proper band name, did some some amazing Hammond organ-ized recordings and issued in three LPs and a bunch of cool 45s. At the end of the '60s, Weaver would quit the "band scene" to become an in demand session musicians and throughout his career he'd be heard backing names such as Eric Burdon, Roger Chapman, Dave Gilmour, Keef Hartley, Alexis Korner, Ralph McTell, Taj Mahal and Otis Rush, but his LPs as Wynder K Frog exhibit the classic Hammond sound from the '60s UK and will appeal to those into Brian Auger, Graham Bond, The Artwoods, Zoot Money, Jimmy McGriff, Booker T. & The MGs and the likes.

Recorded mostly in 1966 and issued in 1967, Wynder K Frog's first LP came out of sessions produced by Chris Blackwell, Jimmy Miller and Syd Dale. Weaver was assuming more and more the identity of Wynder K Frog and was backed by session musicians rather than his live band. It consists of organ led instrumental covers of songs from the Island catalog, some built over rejected backing tracks for other artists of the label like Jimmy Cliff, Jackie Edwards and Owen Gray and some new recordings of hits like Spencer Davis Group's "Somebody Help Me," plus some covers of American R&B hits by the likes of Sam & Dave, Willie Mitchell and Wilson Pickett. The end result gave an idea of the Wynder K Frog sound, resulting in a top mix of dance club go-go sounds, perfect for any swingin' London all-nighter of the '60s.

• First ever vinyl reissue
• Remastered sound
• Bonus tracks not found on the original LP
• Insert with liner notes by Nick Rossi and photos
• Housed in three back-flapped 1960s UK style picture sleeve

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Sunshine Superman
  2. I Feel So Bad
  3. Oh Mary
  4. Blues For A Frog
  5. Somebody Help Me
  6. Mercy
  7. Hold On, I'm Coming
  8. Shook, Shimmy And Shake
  9. Insence
  10. Walking To New Orleans
  11. (Don't Fight It) Feel It
  12. Dancin' Pain

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.