FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > A Tribe Called Quest - People's Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm: 25th (180g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

A Tribe Called Quest - People's Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm: 25th

(180g Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (2)
Item: LDT23719

A Tribe Called Quest People's Instinctive Travels And The Paths Of Rythym (25th Anniversary Edition) on 180g 2LP

Remastered from the Original Tapes by Bob Power Plus Exclusive Remixes

A Tribe Called Quest and Sony Legacy present a special 25th anniversary edition collection of the group's classic debut album People's Instinctive Travels And The Paths of Rhythm. In celebration of the anniversary, the album will be remastered from the original tapes by Grammy-Award winning engineer Bob Power, and re-released with exclusive new remixes by a few of today's biggest hip-hop artists who have credited A Tribe Called Quest as a major creative influence. This album will mark the debut release in a series of re-releases by ATCQ over the course of the next few years.

People's Instinctive Travels And The Paths Of Rhythm made its debut in 1990 and came at a crucial time for hip-hop. The Queens-raised childhood friends - Q-Tip, Phife Dawg, Ali Shaheed Muhammad and Jarobi White - took the traditional hip-hop formula and threw it out the window. Like their contemporaries in De La Soul and the Jungle Brothers, all of whom would become known as the Native Tongues collective, their lyrical and musical influences were unlike any hip-hop group on the scene. While many built breaks around vintage soul and funk samples, ATCQ utilized samples of jazz and '70s rock. Their verses were conversational instead of confrontational, addressing socially conscious topics with laid-back candor and slightly off-kilter humor.

Critics and hip-hop audiences understood the sea of change A Tribe Called Quest represented. The Source gave People's Instinctive Travels And The Paths of Rhythm a perfect score of five mics (a first for the publication), while The Village Voice praised it as "upliftingly dope."

"I had this album in my head for years before I did it. Looking at it overall, to see the thoughts of a 16 year old gain any kind of acknowledgement makes me feel like I have arrived ... But to see it in this incarnation ... I'm humbled" – Q-Tip

"This album means a lot. It was the beginning of our careers; the beginning of our imprint; the beginning of seeing life the way we saw it, and being able to put it down in words and music." – Ali Shaheed Muhammad

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Push It Along
2. Luck of Lucien
3. After Hours
4. Footprints
5. I Left My Wallet in el Segundo
6. Pubic Enemy
7. Bonita Applebum
8. Can I Kick It?
9. Youthful Expression

1. Rhythm (Devoted to the Art of Moving Butts)
2. Mr. Muhammad
3. Ham 'N' Eggs
4. Go Ahead in the Rain
5. Description of a Fool
6. Footprints (Remix)
7. Bonita Applebum (Pharrell Williams Remix)
8. Can I Kick It? (J. Cole Remix)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.