FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Aaron Freeman - Marvelous Clouds (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Aaron Freeman - Marvelous Clouds

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDF1021
Aaron Freeman Marvelous Clouds on LP + Download Card

Debut Solo Album from Ween Frontman!

Aaron Freeman, frontman for the iconic cult rock band Ween, has gained equal notoriety and critical acclaim over the past two decades as a musical shape shifter, under the pseudonym Gene Ween. Now, for the first time, Freeman has shed the moniker, recording a solo album and giving fans a glimpse at the man behind the mask.

Marvelous Clouds is his most personal and authentic effort to date, showcasing his oft-overlooked abilities as a vocalist. As his fans can attest, however, there's always more than meets the ear with him. Ironically, he manages to articulate himself more honestly than ever on record of songs by someone else.

The album features Freeman's interpretations of 13-songs by Rod McKuen. To many younger people today, that name means nothing, but throughout the '50s and '60s, he was one of the biggest celebrities in the world.

His books of poetry sold millions of copies. He won a Grammy and was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize and two Academy Awards. He has been covered by everyone from Frank Sinatra to Madonna to Johnny Cash. Since the '70s, however, McKuen has retreaded into seclusion, leaving a generation widely unaware of his work.

Now his music is being introduced to a new generation from the most unlikely of sources. These 13-songs deal with struggles that Freeman deftly brings out in his performance, including love, self-identity and societal integration. Many of the songs appear happy in nature at first listen, hiding dark themes behind a lyrical veil. Producer Ben Vaughn masterfully found a way to emphasize this, providing a bright compelling sound just transparent enough to show the listener that there's something menacing about it. Vinyl LP includes download card.

Aaron Freeman Marvelous Clouds Track Listing:

1.  As I Love My Own
2.  Jean
3.  Marvelous Clouds
4.  A Man Alone
5.  The Beautiful Strangers
6.  Doesn't Anybody Know My Name
7.  One By One
8.  Pushing The Clouds Away
9.  The Lovers
10. Mr. Kelly
11. Love's Been Good To Me
12. Lonesome Cities
13. The World I Used To Know
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. As I Love My Own
2. Jean
3. Marvelous Clouds
4. A Man Alone
5. The Beautiful Strangers
6. Doesn't Anybody Know My Name
7. One By One
8. Pushing The Clouds Away
9. The Lovers
10. Mr. Kelly
11. Love's Been Good To Me
12. Lonesome Cities
13. The World I Used To Know

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio
MD 2020 Catalog


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More