FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Air - Pocket Symphony (180g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Air - Pocket Symphony

(180g Vinyl 2LP)

$15.00 - 43%

Air - Pocket Symphony

(180g Vinyl 2LP)

$19.99 $34.99 $15.00 - 43%
Availability:Out Of Stock
Add to Cart
23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDA72213

Air Pocket Symphony on 180g 2LP + Download

In correlation with The Virgin Suicides: 15th Anniversary Deluxe Edition box set and 180g vinyl reissue, Warner/Parlophone will also be releasing Air's five album discography on remastered 180-gram vinyl with original artwork, including their first EP Premiers Symptômes (1997), Moon Safari (1998), 10,000 Hz Legend (2001), Talkie Walkie (2004) and Pocket Symphony (2007). 

Pocket Symphony is the fifth full-length album from French postmodern electro duo Air - acronym for "Amour, Imagination, Reve" (love, imagination, dream) - comprised of sound auteurs Nicolas Godin and Jean-Benoit Dunckel. Ever since the release of their classic debut Moon Safari Air has straddled the line between the experimental and the accessible. And not since that first album have they done it as well as they do on Pocket Symphony

Co-produced by Nigel Godrich, Pocket Symphony features vocals by Dunckel and Godin but also from Jarvis Cocker and Neil Hannon (Divine Comedy). Air once again achieves that rare supernova of artistic vision that dares to reconcile palpable, unapologetic ambience with unpretentious soulful simplicity. They create the alternate now, an environment that begs escapism without denying humanity.

While conventional instruments continue to play a great role, Air fashioned several tracks with the addition of Far East classical instruments which Godin learnt to play from Shoko, a Japanese master - namely the Koto (usually referred to as a Japanese floor harp) and the Shamisen, a 3-stringed instrument which is one of Japan’s most popular classical instruments and resembles the banjo. Working their way throughout the album as musical ricochets, these unearthly sounds of an alien nature add another motif to Air’s sonic architecture.    

Air Pocket Symphony Track Listing:

1.  Space Maker
2.  Once Upon A Time
3.  One Hell of a Party (feat. Jarvis Cocker)
4.  Napalm Love
5.  Mayfair Song
6.  Left Bank

1.  Photograph
2.  Mer Du Japon
3.  Lost Message
4.  Somewhere Between Waking and Sleeping (feat. Neil Hannon)
5.  Redhead Girl
6.  Night Sight

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Space Maker
2. Once Upon A Time
3. One Hell of a Party (feat. Jarvis Cocker)
4. Napalm Love
5. Mayfair Song
6. Left Bank

1. Photograph
2. Mer Du Japon
3. Lost Message
4. Somewhere Between Waking and Sleeping (feat. Neil Hannon)
5. Redhead Girl
6. Night Sight

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More