FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Amy Lavere - Runaway's Diary (Colored Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Amy Lavere - Runaway's Diary

(Colored Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDL6117

Amy LaVere Runaway's Diary on Colored LP + Download Card

First Pressing on Colored Vinyl

Amy LaVere's music has been called many things: dark and sexy, witty, feisty, breezy, mysterious. And she is all of that on new album Runaway's Diary. But if 2011's Stranger Me was SPIN's "Break Up Album of the Year," then its 2014 follow-up solidifies LaVere's position as masterful storyteller. On opener "Rabbit," the stage and scenery is set as Amy recounts a tale of running away from home as an adolescent. 

Using friend and frequent collaborator Seasick Steve as the inspiration for the title character, Amy plots the course for the rest of the album. Evocative themes naturally emerge: home, belonging, those who wander, those who are lost and the details of the journey that connects all of it. In addition to the eight tracks LaVere penned, she chose songs written by Townes Van Zandt ("Where I Lead Me"), John Lennon ("How?"), Ned Miller ("Dark Moon"), and local Memphis songwriter Mike McCarthy ("Lousy Pretender") to fit the narrative of Runaway's Diary

When it was time to record the album, LaVere sought out Luther Dickinson (North Mississippi Allstars) - friend, musical collaborator and the son of her late mentor and 2007's Anchors & Anvils producer Jim Dickinson - to produce the project. Having already worked together on folk supergroup The Wandering (with Valerie June, Sharde Thomas, and Shannon McNally) and his first solo album, Rock n' Roll Blues (New West 2014), Luther immediately embraced the project. 

"We bonded and began working together in a state of mutual longing to work with my father, Jim, after he passed," Luther says. He claims that Runaway's Diary is "a culmination" of LaVere's collaborations with the Dickinson family and calls it "one of the best records I've ever been a part of - both as a musician and a producer. Amy's whole life went into this song cycle, from her childhood family dynamic and her own history of running away to growing up on the honkytonk highway and not ever being able to quit running, perpetually moving, giving her life to music and truly becoming the characters she sings about night after night. She closes her eyes and moves so deeply into and through a song, and it moves me."

The musicians on the record - including Tim Regan (guitar, piano, organ), Steve Selvidge (guitar), Will Sexton (guitar, BG vocals) Shawn Zorn (drums), George Sluppick, Sam Shoup (Mellotron), Jim Spake (saxophone), Sharde Thomas (drums, BG vocals), Paul Taylor (drums) and Motel Mirrors collaborator John Paul Keith (guitar) - were no strangers to LaVere or Dickinson, and she credits that familiarity with fueling the collaboration.

Amy LaVere Runaway's Diary Track Listing:

1.  Rabbit 
2.  Last Rock n' Roll Boy to Dance 
3.  Big Sister 
4.  Self Made Orphan 
5.  Where I Lead Me 
6.  Snowflake 
7.  How? 
8.  Don't Go Yet John 
9.  Lousy Pretender 
10. Dark Moon 
11. I'll Be Home Soon 
12. Reprise 
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Rabbit
2. Last Rock n' Roll Boy to Dance
3. Big Sister
4. Self Made Orphan
5. Where I Lead Me
6. Snowflake
7. How?
8. Don't Go Yet John
9. Lousy Pretender
10. Dark Moon
11. I'll Be Home Soon
12. Reprise

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.