FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Animal Collective - Applesauce - Crimson (10" Vinyl EP)
Click to Enlarge

Animal Collective - Applesauce - Crimson

(10" Vinyl EP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDA4015
Animal Collective Applesauce/Crimson on 10" Vinyl

"Applesauce" is the first physical single from Animal Collective’s acclaimed new album Centipede Hz. The 10" vinyl release also features the new non-album b-side titled “Crimson,” a fan favorite from the band’s live shows. Centipede Hz is the tenth full length Animal Collective album following the widely celebrated Merriweather Post Pavilion (2009) and also the first since Strawberry Jam (2007) to feature all four original band members: Avey Tare, Panda Bear, Geologist and Deakin.

Regrouping as a four piece with original member Deakin once more in the band, Animal Collective reconvened in their native Baltimore in January-March of 2011 to write material for Centipede Hz with a further session later in the year. Rather than swapping ideas over the internet and file-sharing Animal Collective were, for the first time in many years, exchanging ideas in the same room by playing live instruments.

As a result Panda Bear returned to playing a sit-down drum kit for the first time since Here Comes The Indian (2003) and Geologist began playing live keyboards again. Along with using some of the samplers and sequencers with which they had previously been writing, the sound of Centipede Hz draws on the dynamics and energy of Animal Collective playing together as a band. 

Part of the inspiration for Centipede Hz included the band's memories of growing up listening to station announcements and commercials on the radio and imagining the after life of radio signals from the past, forgotten transmissions that are now lost in space and broadcasting music from other planets for other life forms.

This is reflected in the sound of Centipede Hz, which features the white noise of radio interference and buried frequencies overlaid with the band's peerless melodic sensibilities and compositional methods. The result is a panoramic set of songs that shimmer with the confidence and wonder of Animal Collective's unique inner logic and the luminous warmth of their sound world.

Animal Collective Applesauce/Crimson Track Listing:

A1. Applesauce
B1. Crimson
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Applesauce
B1. Crimso

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More