FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Anna Von Hausswolff - Ceremony (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Anna Von Hausswolff Ceremony

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDH3218
Anna Von Hausswolff Ceremony on 2LP + MP3 Download

Singer/pianist Anna von Hausswolff hails from Sweden, the land of midnight sun, black metal and Ingmar Bergman. Her album Ceremony is primarily inspired by the death of her grandfather three years ago, and is informed by Anna’s childhood, when she and her sister sang in choirs and spent so much time around their father, the renowned avant-garde artist and composer Carl Michael von Hausswolff, as he worked with artists ranging from William S. Burroughs to Union Carbide Productions. 

Throughout Ceremony, von Hausswolff accompanies herself on the pipe organ of the century-old Annedalskyrkan Church, in her native Gothenburg, Sweden, often joined by serpentine guitar and a restrained yet potent rhythm section. The result is a striking and deeply felt work that combines intimacy and majestic grandeur. Some of the tracks, such as “Mountains Crave” and “Funeral for My Future Children,” are immediate - rhythmic, melodically accessible and epic on their own. 

But the album is a unified, continuous piece of music informed by a vast range of genres (film scores, black metal, opera, sacred music, noise) and artists (the Cocteau Twins, Jefferson Airplane, PJ Harvey, Nick Cave and Anna’s father). To be sure, the breadth of her musical palette, and that she is still in her mid-20s, makes it all the more remarkable that she has created such a singular, coherent and assured album. 

Growing up in Gothenburg’s bohemian neighborhood of Haga, Anna and her younger sister, Maria, were surrounded by art and music. They lived with their mother in a small apartment nestled amongst concert halls, record shops, galleries and cafés. Music was everywhere, and none was more impactful than that of the girls’ own father. 

The senior von Hausswolff’s sound experiments and art installations opened his young daughters’ minds to a world of inspiration, and the headquarters of the Haga-based Radium label he founded in 1986, the same year Anna was born, became a playground and hideout for the sisters, a smoke-filled cabinet of wonders where a vast array of iconic artists took up residence amongst the girls’ schoolbooks and playthings. 

After high school, Anna began to pursue a lifelong interest in architecture at Chalmers University before moving to Copenhagen to continue her studies of art and architecture at the Royal Academy of Art, where she is currently enrolled. And yet, as her studies continued, her musical passion only deepened, and in 2009 Anna released her first EP on Kning Disk, Track of Time, followed in 2010 by her debut full-length, Singing from the Grave.

Anna Von Hausswolff Ceremony Track Listing:

1.  Epitaph of Theodor
2.  Deathbed
3.  Mountains Crave
4.  Goodbye
5.  Red Sun
6.  Epitaph of Daniel

1.  No Body
2.  Liturgy of Light
3.  Harmonica
4.  Ocean
5.  Sova
6.  Funeral for My Future Children
7.  Sun Rise
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Epitaph of Theodor
2. Deathbed
3. Mountains Crave
4. Goodbye
5. Red Sun
6. Epitaph of Daniel

1. No Body
2. Liturgy of Light
3. Harmonica
4. Ocean
5. Sova
6. Funeral for My Future Children
7. Sun Rise

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.