FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Arc Iris - Arc Iris (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Arc Iris - Arc Iris

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDA1411

Arc Iris Arc Iris on 2LP + CD

Anti-Records presents the self-titled debut album from Arc Iris, the new project from former Low Anthem member Jocie Adams. Arc Iris is inspired by '70s pop, folk and country traditions, cabaret, jazz and classical. The eclectic project draws on diverse music from Led Zeppelin to Grizzly Bear, from Joni Mitchell to Dirty Projectors, and from Miles Davis to Chopin. 

A singer, multi-instrumentalist, classical composer and former NASA researcher, Jocie Adams formed the collective with primary musicians Zach Tenorio-Miller (piano), Ray Belli (drums), Max Johnson (bass), Robin Ryczek (cello) and Mike Irwin (trumpet) among others to present her ambitious new songs. 

The rhythm section has been playing together since high school and cut their teeth at the School of Rock where they shared a stage with musicians such as Slash, Perry Farrell, Andrew WK, Jon Anderson of Yes and the Butthole Surfers. Arc Iris has recently played shows with Calexico, CocoRosie, Marco Benevento, Menomena, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, Patrick Watson and Justin Townes Earle.

Bob Boilen of NPR's All Songs Considered calls Arc Iris' music “somewhat cabaret, somewhat orchestral folk, a bit of show tune and jazz band,” while The Deli Magazine writes, “the five-piece group had everything you could want in a live performance - intense energy, appreciation for performing and incredible talent...they are something akin to a soul/folk/jazz amalgamation.”

Before departing The Low Anthem to form Arc Iris, Adams released two albums with that band, who were praised by the New York Times for music that “inhabits its own otherworldly place, where ghosts and angels hover just out of view” and by Under the Radar for how they “flawlessly balance heartfelt warbles with gritty countryside wail.” 2LP-set also contains CD of full album.

Arc Iris Arc Iris Track Listing:

1.  Money Gnomes 
2.  Lost on Me 
3.  Whiskey Man 
4.  Canadian Cowboy 
5.  Singing So Sweetly 
6.  Ditch 
7.  Honor of the Rainbows I 
8.  Honor of the Rainbows II 
9.  Powder Train 
10. Might I Deserve to Have a Dream 
11. Swimming
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Money Gnomes
2. Lost on Me
3. Whiskey Man
4. Canadian Cowboy
5. Singing So Sweetly
6. Ditch
7. Honor of the Rainbows I
8. Honor of the Rainbows II
9. Powder Train
10. Might I Deserve to Have a Dream
11. Swimming

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.