FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Atlas Sound - Let the Blind Lead Those Who Can See but Cannot Feel (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Atlas Sound - Let the Blind Lead Those Who Can See but Cannot Feel

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDA11410

Double Vinyl Reissue of 2008 Solo Debut from Deerhunter Frontman Complete with 6 Bonus Tracks!

One of the latest "true queer art punks" to emerge from the cracked pavement of southern suburban sprawl, Atlas Sound is the solo moniker of Deerhunter frontman/provocateur Bradford Cox. Here on his 2008 debut album, Cox moves out of dank nightclubs filled with eternal existential drone punk, and relaxes at home in his Grant Park, Atlanta bedroom. And this is, essentially, a bedroom album, a collage, mixing the garage rock and ambient electronic influences previously explored with Deerhunter in a new context, with newly explored recording techniques, mainly laptop-based, learned with guidance from Kranky artist Nudge's Brian Foote. The result is 14 songs of melancholy and mania.

This is a true solo album, entirely created and produced by a single person. That is certainly not unique, especially in the contemporary scene. But Bradford Cox's unusual talent is the ability to take a wide variety of seemingly incongruous sound elements, and seamlessly meld them into a cohesive pop narrative. A sunken 4/4 techno beat underpinning "Winter Vacation." Perfect. Mbira loops running over the top of "Quarantined." Just what it needed. An insistent, clipped drum roll carrying "River Card." Masterful. And ultimately it is this innate ability to combine all these disparate elements into a singular whole that makes this album such an enjoyable, and unique listen.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. A Ghost Story
  2. Recent Bedroom
  3. River Card
  4. Quarantined
  5. On Guard
  6. Winter Vacation
  7. Cold As Ice
  8. Scraping Past
  9. Small Horror
  10. Ready, Set, Glow
  1. Bite Marks
  2. After Class
  3. Ativan
  4. Let The Blind Lead Those Who Can See But Cannot Feel
  5. Another Bedroom
  6. It Rained
  7. Stained Glass Swan
  8. Abandoned Closet
  9. Spring Break
  10. ABC Glasgow

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.