FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Ava Luna - Electric Balloon (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Ava Luna - Electric Balloon

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDA5210

Ava Luna Electric Balloon on LP + Download

After years of writing and performing, Ava Luna has refined their doo-wop soul meets punk-as-fuck aesthetic into something bold and glaringly defiant in today's indie music landscape. Following the release of their critically lauded first proper full-length Ice Level, the band spent an intense 2-week period writing and recording in upstate New York. 

Unlike previous efforts that were meticulously mapped out, the songs that would become Electric Balloon were "...a family effort," according to frontman Carlos Hernandez. For the new album, former Columbia composition student Hernandez relinquished the reins a bit, opting for a more organic approach to writing the material for what would become Electric Balloon

As Hernandez explains, it was a "...birth of confidence. I grew closer to my bandmates, began to see the roles of a family playing out. Ethan cooks dinner for all of us, we make lewd jokes, and then 'after-dinner storytelling' takes the form of playing music."

In the wake of Ice Level, Ava Luna's sharp edges have melted away just enough, making it easier to connect with their no-wave grooves and soaring harmonies. Distilling everything from James Chance and ESG to contemporaries like Dirty Projectors and Of Montreal, Ava Luna have landed on an aggressively unique sound that still manages to be accessible. 

Hernandez goes on to explain "...the stories and moments here are clearer, as in a conversation. The moment appears, you grab it with your hands, screw the lid on the mason jar. There was no tweaking, no second-guessing. Julian's mantra for the process: 'First thought best thought.' And for my part, I sing my best about encounters, friendships, some moments beautiful and others painful. A bike shop manager in New Orleans, a derelict porch on Brighton Beach, a yellow sweater in a kitchen in the Catskills, a water duct in the New Mexico desert..."

"A beaming mix of ice-cool vintage '80s no wave grooves and extra-lush three-part girl group harmonies...Ava Luna has infectious, minimalist, ESG-style beats for days.” - SPIN

Ava Luna Electric Balloon Track Listing:

1.  Daydream
2.  Sears Roebuck M&Ms
3.  Crown
4.  Aquarium
5.  Plain Speech
6.  Electric Balloon
7.  PRPL
8.  Hold U
9.  Judy
10. Genesee
11. Ab Ovo

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Daydream
2. Sears Roebuck M&Ms
3. Crown
4. Aquarium
5. Plain Speech
6. Electric Balloon
8. Hold U
9. Judy
10. Genesee
11. Ab Ovo

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.