FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Bert Jansch - Live in Australia (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Bert Jansch - Live in Australia

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LIJ01761

There is something quite special about a live album provided you can get over the envy at not having been present. It can sound a lot better than the gig itself without the risk of one's toes being trodden or a shower of a fellow reveler's beer. Certainly a Bert Jansch gig was a treat however you experienced it, especially when he was at the top of his game, as captured on Live In AustraliaEschewing the familiar stalwarts of previous live sets, this memorable recording saw Jansch debut two new (at the time) songs; "Downunder" and "My Donald," as well as "Little Max" which never had a studio outing. There is a warmth about this recording which echoes that of Live at The 12 Bar, recorded three years before. It's mostly just Bert and his guitar, with the a welcome addition of intuitively placed flourishes of bass and percussion. This ambience is heightened by Brian Pyle's sensitive remastering, bringing a real intimacy to this enduring collection of songs.

• Recorded live at Continental Cafe, Melbourne, Australia in March 1998 with Pete Howell (bass) & Ian Clarke (percussion)
• Remastered from original tapes by Brian Pyle
• Liner notes by Colin Harper

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Blues Run the Game
  2. Come Back Baby
  3. The Lily of the West
  4. Paper Houses
  5. Toy Balloon
  6. My Donald
  7. Born and Bred in Old Ireland
  8. She Moved Through the Fair
  9. Carnival
  10. Little Max
  11. Strolling Down the Highway
  12. Angie
  13. Curragh of Kildare
  14. Downunder
  15. How It All Came Down

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More