FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Big Search - Life Dollars (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Big Search - Life Dollars

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDB35814

Big Search is the ever-present alter ego of Matt Popieluch as he continues to make his way through Californian life, channeling the cross-currents of romance, upheaval, and casual adventure. After over a decade of making music in various bands like Foreign Born and The Cave-Ins, and assisting in bands Papercuts, Fools Gold, Glasser, Cass McCombs, Taken By Trees and Sky Ferreira, Big Search has been steadily uncovering the music being revealed to him in flow-states. After two albums and a number of singles, "Please Do Not Explain" was included on the first compilation from Danger Mouse's new imprint 30th Century Records, the label will be releasing full album Life Dollars in August 2016.

Life Dollars was recorded during two five days periods in Los Angeles with producer Rob Barbato (Kevin Morby, Bleached). The sessions were squeezed in between Matt's tour dates while he was working as a hired guitar player, and recorded live with Dan Iead on guitar, Garrett Ray on drums and Rob Barbato doubling on bass. The majority of the songs here were written at the beginning of an international romance-turned-marriage that has since ended, giving the songs dual natures.

As a result, the music embodies longing, idealism, uncertainty, isolation, and emotional gambling on a bed of drifting escapism. The arrangements were inspired by the time Matt and Dan Iead toured as a duo through New England a few autumns ago. In a minimal rental car, surviving on pizza and a hacky sack, they developed the 12 string acoustic – electric guitar combination that would become the core of the record. Add a rhythm section, harmonies, synthesizers, vibes, and a few woodwinds and you've got all you need to rake in some Life Dollars.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Please Do Not Explain
  2. Distant Shore
  3. Can't Understand The News
  4. Dream of Returning
  5. The Only One
  6. Don't Change My Eyes
  7. Anna, Don't Go
  8. I Feel Good
  9. Warm Machine
  10. Look My Way

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.