FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Black Lips - Underneath The Rainbow (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Black Lips Underneath The Rainbow

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDB3341

Black Lips Underneath The Rainbow on 180g LP + Download

Atlanta’s favorite sons the Black Lips are back with their first full-length in three years, Underneath the Rainbow. The Vice Records release was recorded at a variety of locations over the course of 2013 and its twelve songs boast a stable of studio collaborators whose pedigree speaks to how much the band has grown and sonically matured over the course of their 15 year long career. 

After letters to incarcerated studio legend Phil Spector to produce went unanswered the band convened at Dunham Studios in New York to record initial tracks with Dap Kings music director Tommy Brenneck (Cee Lo, Charles Bradley). The group then decamped to Nashville to record several songs with Patrick Carney of The Black Keys producing, finally rounding out the album with a couple of songs co-produced with lifetime Lips recording collaborator, Ed Rawls. The resultant collection was mixed by Grammy winner Jimmy Douglass (Justin Timberlake, Snoop Dogg, Björk) and features artwork shot by legendary photographer Mick Rock (David Bowie, Queen, Lou Reed).

Underneath the Rainbow blends southern rock with throwback C&W and blues on lead single "Boys in the Wood," while "Funny" stands as the first Black Lips' song with a prominent synth, however, the album owes just as much to the kiwi pop of New Zealand's South Island and the Chicago South Side's Crucial Conflict as it does the standard American South. It never strays far from the traditional roots music that has always found a comfortable home with the Black Lips, but invites enough curiosity with its approach to attract even the most unlikely listener.

Since the release of 2011’s Arabia Mountain, which landed the Black Lips on the cover of SPIN among many other distinctions, the band have been a live fixture worldwide, including festival appearances at Coachella, Bonnaroo, Lollapalooza, Primavera, All Tomorrows Parties, Austin City Limits, as well as positioning themselves as international music diplomats via tours in Thailand, Turkey, Australia, and a highly ambitious, ground-breaking tour of the Middle East (which was the subject of an NPR All Things Considered piece as well as a feature length documentary Kids Like You & Me). 

"Does what all great psych rock ought to: It freaks you out, but in the best possible way." - Rolling Stone

Black Lips Underneath The Rainbow Track Listing:

1.  Drive By Buddy
2.  Smiling
3.  Make You Mine
4.  Funny
5.  Dorner Party
6.  Justice After All
7.  Boys in the Wood
8.  Waiting
9.  Do the Vibrate
10. I Don't Wanna Go Home
11. Dandelion Dust
12. Dog Years
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Drive By Buddy
2. Smiling
3. Make You Mine
4. Funny
5. Dorner Party
6. Justice After All
7. Boys in the Wood
8. Waiting
9. Do the Vibrate
10. I Don't Wanna Go Home
11. Dandelion Dust
12. Dog Years

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.