FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Blonde Redhead - Barragan (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Blonde Redhead - Barragan

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDB23093

Blonde Redhead Barragan on LP

Forming in 1994, Blonde Redhead were thrown together following a chance meeting in New York between Japanese siren Kazu Makino and Milanese twin brothers, Amedeo and Simone Pace. Taking their name from a song by fellow New York no wave artists DNA, location was to prove key to the band’s initial experimentations. Forging a sound reflective of New York’s rich musical legacy, the early years of Blonde Redhead were very much haunted by the squalling underground scene that has forever pulsed throughout the city. While indebted to their geography, the release of their self-titled debut in 1994, swiftly followed by the self-produced La Mia Vita Violenta a year later on Steve Shelley’s Smells Like label, showed signs that Blonde Redhead were soon to escape the shadow of New York.

Indeed, a move west to esteemed Chicago imprint Touch And Go provided the band the opportunity to stretch their wings. The release of Fake Can Be Just As Good with Fugazi’s Guy Picciotto in 1997 and it’s sequel, In An Expression Of The Inexpressible, offered gradual refinements of their artful chaos, but it wasn’t until the band's swansong for Touch And Go, 2000's Melody Of Certain Damaged Lemons, that a turning point was reached. The tumult and discord of their earlier records was pared back, emphasis instead placed on the windswept, minor-key melodies that have since come to be the defining trait of the band. 

Not long after signing to 4AD on a worldwide deal in 2004, Kazu suffered a near-fatal horse riding accident, which understandably was to colour, both visually and lyrically, their debut for the label, Misery Is A Butterfly. Four years later, they returned with their most commercially successful album to date, 23. Testament to the band’s ability to reinvent who they are without losing any of their emotional resonance, the record was a lucid reflection of Blonde Redhead’s will to connect with its audience in striking and affecting ways. 2010 then saw the release of eighth studio album Penny Sparkle, another sonic twist in their adventurous canon. 

Barragan is the enigmatic trio's ninth studio album - produced, engineered and mixed by Drew Brown (Beck, Radiohead, The Books) - and recorded at Key Club Recording in Benton Harbor, Michigan and the Magic Shop in New York City. The new 10-song set is preceded by the sleek lead single “No More Honey.” 

Blonde Redhead Barragan Track Listing:

1.  Barragán
2.  Lady M
3.  Dripping
4.  Cat On Tin Roof
5.  The One I Love
6.  No More Honey
7.  Mind To Be Had
8.  Defeatist Anthem (Harry and I)
9.  Penultimo
10. Seven Two
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Barragán
2. Lady M
3. Dripping
4. Cat On Tin Roof
5. The One I Love
6. No More Honey
7. Mind To Be Had
8. Defeatist Anthem (Harry and I)
9. Penultimo
10. Seven Two

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.