FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Bob Mould - Beauty And Ruin (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Bob Mould - Beauty And Ruin

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDM52014

Bob Mould Beauty And Ruin on LP + Download

Bob Mould’s new album Beauty & Ruin is a twelve-track journey of loss, reflection, conciliation, and coming through the other side. It may very well be the most epic emotional roller coaster ever pressed into 36 minutes. Well into his fourth decade as a singer-songwriter, Mould is as relevant, ferocious, and poignant as he has ever been. 

Much of Beauty & Ruin deals with the passing of Mould’s father in October 2012, Bob’s struggle to come to terms with it, himself, and his own identity and legacy, and repercussions of all of the above on his ongoing relationships in the land of the living. Beauty & Ruin is a challenging work of raw beauty - and may well be Bob Mould’s finest work since his 1989 solo debut, Workbook.

Bob Mould’s journey as singer-songwriter, guitarist, author, DJ, and all-around MVP began in 1979 with the formation of Hüsker Dü. In 1988, Mould began the first part of a solo career producing the aforementioned Workbook and the heavy Black Sheets of Rain. In 1992, Bob gave the world Sugar, a reimagined power trio that toured the globe and produced two albums and an EP: Copper Blue, Beaster, and File Under: Easy Listening. From these releases came a cache of songs - “Helpless,” “Hoover Dam,” “If I Can’t Change Your Mind,” “Your Favorite Thing” - that remain staples of Bob’s live shows to this day. 

In the fall 2012, Bob gave the world Silver Age, his debut album for Merge Records and the first to feature current bandmates Jason Narducy and Jon Wurster. The subsequent touring covered four continents, ending in October 2013 in South America. Beauty & Ruin is in large part the sound of this band, on the road relentlessly, congealing into the tightest unit to surround Bob in his storied career. 

Two days after returning from South America, the trio reconvened in Chicago to begin the recording of Beauty & Ruin. The October 2013 session at Steve Albini’s famed studio complex Electrical Audio consisted of nine days of band tracking and five days of layering guitars. The following month, Bob returned to Different Fur Studios in his hometown of San Francisco to finish lyrics for six songs, add vocals, and mix the album.

Beauty & Ruin is a product of a survivor who refuses to give up, thrives through his work, and subsequently embraces the many changes around and within himself. Bob smartly declares the album as “yet another bonus round, and I am very grateful.”

Bob Mould Beauty And Ruin Track Listing:

1.  Low Season
2.  Little Glass Pill
3.  I Don’t Know You Anymore
4.  Kid With Crooked Face
5.  Nemeses Are Laughing
6.  The War
7.  Forgiveness
8.  Hey Mr. Grey
9.  Fire in the City
10. Tomorrow Morning
11. Let the Beauty Be
12. Fix It
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Low Season
2. Little Glass Pill
3. I Don’t Know You Anymore
4. Kid With Crooked Face
5. Nemeses Are Laughing
6. The War
7. Forgiveness
8. Hey Mr. Grey
9. Fire in the City
10. Tomorrow Morning
11. Let the Beauty Be
12. Fix It

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More