FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Brian Reitzell - Kicks: Original Soundtrack (180g Import Colored Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Brian Reitzell - Kicks: Original Soundtrack

(180g Import Colored Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LIR02791

Colored Copies Are Limited / Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack to director Justin Tipping's 2016 debut feature film Kicks features such artists as the Wu-Tang Clan, Mac Dre, RJD2, Charles Bradley, Iamsu!, Marc E. Bassy and Brian Reitzell. The music of the film acts almost as another lead character in Tipping's urban coming-of-age tale set in the San Francisco Bay Area. It was important to have the film be reflective of a place and time, and local Bay Area artists like Roach Gigz, Dave Steezy and NanosauR help to do just that. Almost every song heard in the film is available as part of the soundtrack album. It also boasts songs that you can't get anywhere else from NanosauR, Jay Casio and Brian Reitzell.

The songs in the movie are held together by composer Reitzell's pulsating score, which often acts as the music bed for some of lead actor Jahking Guillory's poignant moments of spoken rap. Creating his own unique method of scoring films, Reitzell draws equally from his experience as a recording and touring musician. His vision for this film score was to create a seamless landscape of songs, score and source music. It also helps that Reitzell himself is from the East Bay area, where the film takes place. "I have always wanted to score a film based there," says Reitzell. "Justin captured the look and feel of the place in such a real way. It was a very natural process for me because I felt so connected to it. The people, the streets, BART trains, the music... it's under my skin."

When asked about the selection process for the music in the film, Tipping says, "I always knew I wanted to weave an eclectic soundtrack together that intertwined hip-hop and sweeping score to reflect the bay area sound as well as the world inside the characters' imagination. With so many genres mashed up together, Brian [Reitzell] was the dream composer for Kicks because of his unique and diverse musical background. He's truly a genius in the studio. He created a sonic through line that elevated the story to an entirely new level."

Composer Reitzell goes on to compliment his director, saying, "Justin has impeccable taste. The source music he selected, mostly hip-hop tracks, really put you in the East Bay whether you knew it or not. It's a timeless collection. We wanted the score to connect with the source music sonically. I think that when you do that, the music as a whole – both songs and score – make for a more immersive/connective experience."

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Spaceship – Brian Reitzell
  2. Party and Bullshit (Dialogue Interlude 1) – Jahking Guillory
  3. Friends Hanging Out – Brian Reitzell
  4. The Sheboygan Left – RJD2
  5. C.R.E.A.M. – Wu-Tang Clan
  6. BBQ Music – Marc E. Bassy
  7. Kitchen Astronaut (feat. Jahking Guillory) – Brian Reitzell
  8. Self Made – Keith Jenkins
  9. Slow Trap – NanosauR
  10. Travel to Oakland – Brian Reitzell
  11. Sincerely Yours – Iamsu!
  12. 37 - Roach Gigz
  13. Hella Super High – YMTK
  1. Wave on $Wim – Dave Steezy
  2. Get Stupid (Remix) – Mac Dre
  3. Aye – Jay Casio
  4. In You (I Found a Love) – Charles Bradley & Menahan Street Band
  5. Sideshow – Blue Magic
  6. Fireworks Went Off – Brian Reitzell
  7. Flaco Arrives – Brian Reitzell
  8. Flaco Chases Brandon – Brian Reitzell
  9. Party and Bullshit (Dialogue Interlude 2) – Jahking Guillory
  10. 606 in the 510 – Brian Reitzell

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.