FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Calexico - Spoke (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Calexico - Spoke

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDC05116

Calexico Spoke on LP + Download

Vinyl Reissue of the Band's 1997 Debut!

"Nearly twenty years has passed since we embarked on these initial home recordings on our trusty 8 track reel to reel. These were the first experiments of writing and recording with the newly bought thrift store instrumentation featuring marimba, vibraphone, accordion, cello, mandolin as well as the respective drums, guitar and bass.

"The songs have a certain lean to them and we appreciated the unusual character that came from this session. We started off minimal and one by one started adding instruments, both John and I as we saw fit, or adding vocals when we needed storyline. Spoke has an organic feel to it.

"In addition to these songs there are field recordings and outgoing tape machine messages that help to paint the picture of crooked adobe walls and empty downtown streets of Tucson. There's an element of space on this album that unfolds nicely upon the ear and it evokes the kind of late night aesthetic that holds up well to this day." - Joey Burns

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Low Expectations
2. Mind The Gap
3. Mazurra
4. Sanchez
5. Haul
6. Slag
7. Paper Route
8. Glimpse
9. Navy Cut
10. Spokes
11. Scout
12. Point Vicente
13. Wash
14. Ice Cream Jeep
15. Wind Jammer
16. Mazurka
17. Removed
18. Hitch
19. Stinging Nettle

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.