FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Calvin Love - Super Future (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Calvin Love - Super Future

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDL05119

Calvin Love Super Future on LP

Only once with every blue moon comes an artist that seems so familiar yet out of space as Calvin Love. On Super Future, his first album for Arts & Crafts, the young charmer from Edmonton, Alberta, steeps songs of psychedelic wisdom in celestial sensuality. Calvin Love arrives an enigma, a strutting, crooning contradiction: as menacing as he is magnetic, like sex and murder wrapped together in a trench coat. With coolness that defies contrivance, Love links sounds and images of science-fiction vintage with an auspicious version of the future. 

"Automaton" plays late summer knight-rider funk like a factory machine, while soul-drenched bass and electric guitars chase each other in flirtatious dialogue. Love's reedy tenor phases in the same atmospheric register as age-old synthesizers, singing: "Now off in the distance, her machine calls out 'I wish you were my robot' so I wouldn't feel left out'." The music drips with crystal aura, blending obsession with the beauty of artifice and the inner systems of real and natural things. It's this infallible match of the authentic to the inventive that makes Calvin Love's Super Future so strange and inviting. 

"Pop songs for long night drives...with a distinct cinematic quality to it." - Noisey

"FM radio gold fit for Phil Spector's wall of sound." - Consequence of Sound

Calvin Love Super Future Track Listing:

1.  Girl
2.  The Rush
3.  Automaton
4.  I Wanna Know
5.  Calls From Jupiter
6.  Luna
7.  Daydream
8.  Down The Well
9.  Creepin
10. You & I

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Girl
2. The Rush
3. Automaton
4. I Wanna Know
5. Calls From Jupiter
6. Luna
7. Daydream
8. Down The Well
9. Creepin
10. You & I

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.